A Phoenix Rising

Pssst…Want to Hear Something Exciting?

Zan and I….

wait for it!!!

Are going….



DISNEY CRUISE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


there’s more!!

We are going…

WITHOUT THE KIDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I know!!!!  CRAZY, right?!?!?!

We have never ever left them for more than a night before.  In nearly 17 years we have been parents, we have never taken a vacation, even a mini one, without them.  This is a three nighter, and I feel like I’m leaving them for weeks.

I will let you in on a little secret….

I am excited, and nervous in equal measure.  I’m so conflicted.

One minute I am giddy with anticipation:

Sleeping in!

Blue beach waters!

An uninterrupted three days with my husband!

No schedules!

No responsibilities!!

And the next minute, I am nauseous with reservations:

I am going to MISS them!

They will miss US!

What if someone gets sick while we are gone?

What if someone gets hurt while we are gone?

What if my boy wakes up with nightmares and I’m not there to comfort him?

What if my girls need help with their math homework and only Daddy can help?

What if they’re lonesome and sad?

What if our flights get delayed on our way home, extending our time away?

I won’t even mention the unmentionable scary worries.

BUT…there’s that saying on my bathroom mirror:  Let your Faith be bigger than your Fear.

So we are going for it.  Doing something out of our comfort zone for US.

And after their initial, “HOW COULD YOU?!?!?!” reactions, the kids are actually supportive and happy for us.

I guess we’ve done something right.

“If you are not willing to risk the unusual, you will have to settle for the ordinary.” -Jim Rohn




7 responses

  1. Wow! How exciting! If I had an opportunity like this, though, Disney wouldn’t have been my choice of cruise lines. I know you are a Disney fiend but I imagine those ships are packed with kids and reminders of kids everywhere!!

    January 5, 2014 at 8:27 am

    • Quite honestly, we want to give a Disney cruise a whirl before committing to a longer family cruise. Taking the opportunity to check it out on our own (and make sure I don’t get seasick!) And I love being around kids…they won’t be my responsibility! And apparently there are lots of adult only spots. We will see!

      January 5, 2014 at 9:58 am

  2. How exciting!!!! I’d feel the same as you….heck, it was hard, leaving them for the first time to go to the movies (two miles from home!!) and they were 10 and 17 at the time LOL
    Everything will be fine, though, and those 3 nights / 4 days will be over so fast that you won’t have time to worry ;-)

    (personally, if I got to go on a vacation without the kids, I’d leave my husband at home, too, and get some real “me time” :-D )

    January 7, 2014 at 6:42 am

    • LOL I actually enjoy spending time with my husband, although, a girls weekend is tempting too! ;)

      January 9, 2014 at 11:16 am

  3. When my wife and I first left our kids home for a vacation, she went through the same feelings and thoughts as you did. It is a Mars/Venus thing for sure. :) I know you are back now so I’ll be waiting for the pictures….you did take your camera, right?

    January 20, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers