A Phoenix Burning

Adding to the Noise

“And then…all the noise! All the noise, noise, noise, noise!

If there’s one thing I hate…all the noise, noise, noise, noise!

And they’ll shriek, squeak, and squeal racing round on their wheels,

Then dance with jin-tinglers tied onto their heels!”

 

“They’ll blow their flu-flubers, they’ll bang their tar-tinkers,

They’ll blow their hoo-hoovers, they’ll bang their gar-dinkers!

They’ll beat their trum-tookers, they’ll slam their sloo-slunkers!

They’ll beat their blum-blookers, they’ll wham their hoo-whunkers!”

 – The Grinch (Dr. Seuss)

 

Do you ever wonder if your simply adding to The Noise?

I have been posting to this blog for nearly five years now.  Recently I’ve been quiet.  I could claim it’s because I have been busy, which I have.  I could claim it’s because I have nothing to say, but I do.  I could claim it’s because my photography has taken a back seat, which it has, and yet that’s not the real reason.

It seems I am simply tired of all the noise.

And I don’t want to add to it.

Who am I to spout my personal opinions?  Who really needs or wants to hear them?

Who am I to teach anyone about photography? I am an Amateur.

Who am I to share things about my family?  Does anyone really care what goes on in my little corner of the world?

Who am I to take readers along on my life journey?  We all have our own to travel.

There’s that well known saying, “What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas.”

I am wondering if we should be living by the saying, “What happens in your head stays in your head.”

At times I feel like shutting up.

At times I feel like writing a book.

At times I feel like standing on my Soap Box and telling everyone what I REALLY think…about religion, about politics, about education, about social issues, about technology and jobs and God and Purpose.

But who am I to share any of those things?

There are already too many quality Mommy Blogs. And quality Cooking Blogs. And quality Photography Blogs. And quality Renovator Blogs.  And useless  “I-Want-To-Spout-Off-Into-The-Universe-Anything-That-Comes-Into-My-Teeny-Tiny-Close-Minded-Brain” Blogs.  Do I really need to be another one?  A mediocre one at that?

Who really wants to hear it?

Am I simply………………..

 

 

 

 

 

Adding to the Noise?

 

Perhaps.

And yet….

And yet….

I think I will continue.

For this is MY place…My memory is stored here.  My joys, My sorrows, some frustrations, My Journey, My evolution as a human being.

And I think I will continue.

8 responses

  1. I’m glad you are continuing KD. Afterall, these spaces are our own for saying or showing what we like. We don’t force anyone to read or take notice. We don’t make money from these little blogs. We have no obligations to fill the space or not. I don’t think it is noise if we aren’t bothering anyone, and how could we be with these blogs of ours? It is a community that we can choose to be a part of if we like.
    (I used “we” an awful lot in that comment, and I hope that is okay with you! I feel like our blogs are very similar in subject matter, and I’m happy to have made your acquaintance in the blogosphere. 🙂 )

    November 7, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    • I agree with you Karma! I think you should continue too, KD. Even if it’s for your own record, to make your own memories, to simply be you! No one forces anyone to read our blogs; no one has to listen to our “noise.” But we can make our “noise” nonetheless. Great post!

      November 8, 2012 at 12:26 am

    • It is true, we don’t make people “listen.” (And of course I don’t mind you using “we!”) I agree that our subject matter runs along the same lines. I guess sometimes a little quiet is all a person needs. I find I need to back away from everything once in awhile. In fact, even literal noise is something I need a break from now and then. Guess its just my
      personality. 🙂

      November 9, 2012 at 7:25 pm

  2. I believe that many of us know the feeling of driving tired of something, we have been spending a lot of time and energy doing. Then creativity, fun, mutual inspiration, joy and pleasure changes to annoying noise.
    We shall make photo blogging to have fun for the benefit of ourselves – and others.
    No reason to start blogging again until the urge returns!
    I will look forward to seeing you here again – when you feel like it!

    November 7, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    • Thank you Truels! I look forward to catching up round the community. 🙂

      November 9, 2012 at 7:30 pm

  3. I like to drop by here, see what you’re up to, look at the world through fresh eyes. I come for the pleasure of your company, and because your kids are fun to be around. I feel like the neighbor down the street who waves when you drive by, stops to chat while you’re out mowing the lawn and I’m out walking the dogs, enjoys being invited in to see the paint samples and the progress on the renovations. You’re a good neighbor – not noisy at all. 🙂

    November 7, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    • Gerry, you always know what to say. 🙂 And I absolutely LOVE being your neighbor. We really must sit down for a cup of tea one day….and of course treats….most excellent treats. 🙂

      November 9, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Leave a Reply

