A Phoenix Burning

I Speak for the Trees, for the Trees Have No Tongues

Sadly, our beautiful maple tree that is surrounded by our deck, the one we have watched grow from a wee sprite to a towering shade tree, the one we have protected and loved, had to sacrifice one of it’s large limbs this past weekend.  Zan did the surgery himself.  The tree still looks beautiful, and now it won’t impede the roof to the new addition, but we were still sad to take such a drastic cut.

Mister enjoyed playing with the sawdust:

And he comforted our dear tree after the surgery was over.

Hard to believe this is the same boy who antagonizes his sisters at every opportunity.  When Teen Girl saw these photos she said, “Aw!!  He looks like a sweet boy in those pictures.  Too bad he’s not like that all the time!”

‘Nuff said.

5 responses

  1. Nice to see one so young appreciate the living things around him. Most of wore off from somewhere. 😉

    June 26, 2012 at 10:09 am

  2. Aw, so sweet! Better to lose a limb than lose the tree. I’m sure the tree appreciated the hugs! 🙂

    June 26, 2012 at 10:14 am

  3. It was pretty cute. 🙂

    June 26, 2012 at 8:16 pm

  4. These are precious moments 🙂 WHat gorgeous pictures: you have captured a human being in a moment of pure joy and oneness with his planet. At any age, that is an extraordinary thing to do. I shan’t forget these in a hurry…

    June 30, 2012 at 1:20 pm

  5. Zandic

    I look a this post and the purity of these pictures makes me stare and cry. I am confused however since I know what an awful awful awefull boy he is. Actually I had to cut the limb back further and I felt absolutely rotten about it. I gave the tree a hug like the boy did. I know i doesn’t help the tree but I felt alot better. And I know that I am awful awful awful too.

    July 10, 2012 at 9:45 pm

Leave a Reply

