A Phoenix Rising

Busy

Well well well!! Things are busy in the Zanduba household! All is well and I find myself stopping in my tracks quite frequently to say a prayer of thanks that I once again can MAKE tracks. I have made peace with my medications, and my twice a week chiropractor visits are now so routine that I’m trading girl talk and decorating advice with the nurses and receptionist. :) My body takes care of me as long as I’m taking care of it and putting it first. Very grateful to find myself here compared to where I was one year ago I take NOTHING for granted, including the ability to lie comfortably still. Not sure I’ll ever be what I was, but that’s okay.

Anyway, back to the here and now…May is here, and things are moving. Notices about end of the year activities are coming home from school (OMG!!!) and spring band and orchestra concerts are happening. Mister is playing tee ball for the first time, so we have games to attend a couple nights a week. Here he is at his first game:

20120502-211217.jpg

Doesn’t he look like he’s having fun?! Okay, you’re right, he wasn’t having ANY fun! But, each game has brought a few more smiles. I’m thinkin’ baseball might not be his thing though. Time will tell.
As you know we’ve been painting the kitchen. It’s *nearly* done. Still a few things left to do, but here’s a sneak peek at the progress:

20120502-211637.jpg

I’ll dedicate a whole post to it when we’re officially done. I’m loving the brightness and freshness!
And this came today! Official blueprints!

20120502-211806.jpg

It’s all very exciting! I don’t like writing out those big checks though. That part is scary.
So much more, but it will have to wait…
I’ll leave you with more dandelion fun from today. Wonder if he will ever grow tired of these?

20120502-212136.jpg

9 responses

  1. I never grew tired of dandelions.

    The kitchen looks beautiful. I hope you’re enjoying this busy scary wonderful time.

    May 3, 2012 at 8:11 am

    • I am enjoying it all Gerry! Any day that I’m moving and capable is a good day, and there have been lots of those lately. :)

      May 3, 2012 at 8:58 pm

  2. He reminds me of me when I was in little league baseball. I found baseball as a youngster very boring. So glad you’re on the mend. I am a frequent flier at our chiropractor, although usually just a maintainance program (but not now, wrenched the lower back last saturday). It’s hard for me to remember what pain-free movement feels like. :)

    May 3, 2012 at 9:28 am

    • Oh Ted! I wouldn’t wish back problems on my worst enemy! I’m so sorry you’re struggling. I live fearful everyday of doing something to aggravate it, and so find myself extremely protective in my movements. The memory of what you are now going through is very fresh. I wish you a quick and complete recovery.

      May 3, 2012 at 9:01 pm

  3. Happy to hear you are feeling better and confident. That and you are taking photos again. Just be careful not to over do it during all this decorating and remodeling and construction. Exciting times ahead!

    May 3, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    • Thanks Scott! :) I am being quite careful (no painting for me anymore) but finding it harder the better I feel. In fact, I know I’ve been pushing my luck a bit this week, so I’m taking today “off.” :) Tea and a book this morning.

      May 4, 2012 at 6:43 am

  4. You’ve come a long way, baby! :-) What a difference a year makes, huh? Boggles my mind to think THIS time last year I was 1 week into dealing with a broken foot. MUCH better this year! Sooooo glad you are better, too. :-)

    The new kitchen color looks great! I can see new granite (or stone) countertops in your future. Something to set off all that gorgous wood. I have ‘kitchen size envy’. Mine is very, very small.

    Yay – blueprints! Only a few weeks until demo, right? Exciting and scary all at the same time. Take LOTS of photos at all the stages of demo and construction. It is AMAZING how priceless they can be once things are all finished!

    May 3, 2012 at 3:50 pm

    • We’ve both come a long way!!! :D It was a long year of learning limits. (I HATE being limited at all!) But I am much healthier living within them.
      I’ve already told our builder that once we are done with this project, we’ll be saving up for the next—my kitchen! I would LOVE to have cabinets built to match the old pantry cabinets we have. Something tells me it will be another ten years before we can save enough to pull THAT job off. :) My kitchen really is huge…it’s one of the reasons we bought the house in the first place. I adore my kitchen’s size and set up. I’m never at a loss for counter space, even when I’m cooking dinner for twenty.
      We don’t have an exact date, but expect work to start close to the first of June. Whoohoo!! I will be taking a zillion photos….you’ll probably be sick to death of seeing them by the time it’s all over. :)

      May 4, 2012 at 7:27 am

  5. I can’t believe you’re nearly at the end of term! We have just started our Summer term: it will be many weeks before we get to the Summer concert stage.The blueprints look exciting, and the dandelion clock shot is just wonderful! Happy closing weeks of term!

    May 6, 2012 at 10:08 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers