A Phoenix Burning

Renovation Update…

While we are busy painting and spiffing up downstairs, our builder is busy getting our upstairs reno project approved and getting things ordered so we can start in June.  I found out today that our bathroom fixtures (tub, showers, faucets, toilets, sinks) were just ordered yesterday!  Whoohoo!

Thought I’d take you on a little shopping excursion to see what we have picked out.

First, the old bathroom will be getting gutted (can’t wait!!!)  We will have a basic boring white toilet, a corner shower, and two pedestal sinks installed in there.

The sinks:

The shower should look something like this, except white and chrome:

Our faucets:

and the floor will be white hex:

Now, the second bathroom, which is the new Master will have a Bubble Massage tub (or as Mister calls it, “The Relaxitub”)  a shower, vanity and white “comfort height” toilet.  (My back is happy.) 🙂

The shower…kind of like this one:

Our “Relaxitub”:

Our vanity:

And our faucets:

We have chosen black hex tile for that bathroom:

And the ledge surrounding the tub will have this tile (I just decided on this today…Zan doesn’t even know yet. *tee*hee*)

 

Still need to choose lighting and roofing and other stuff.  So far, so fun! I figure if I ASSUME it will all go smoothly, it WILL.  Right?  Um, right???

I will keep you “post”-ed.  😉

(See what I did there?)

 

6 responses

  1. Oooh, pretty! You can’t go wrong with ‘classic’. I don’t think white is boring at all…it stands the test of time.

    Is the ledge tile glass mosaic? Can’t tell from the image. The mix of black, white and grey is lovely.

    Do you have “Light ‘N Leisure” stores around you? I have found the best lighting there…especially in their clearance stuff. Makes one think “out of the box” and you end up with something unique that no one else will have. I’ve also used http://www.affordablelamps.com/ when I couldn’t find what I needed. And, even though you’ve ordered them already, this site for faucets is AMAZING…the same stuff in the showrooms but at crazy-good prices. http://www.faucetdirect.com/

    The vanity is devine and so is the “Relaxi-tub”! I bet you just can’t wait!!! Fingers crossed that everything goes off without a hitch!

    April 24, 2012 at 3:31 pm

  2. Thanks Tracy! 🙂
    I REALLY wanted classic and simple….nothing too trendy. It all needed to suit the style and period of the house, and yet we wanted simplicity. I figure if we want color, we can do it with accents or with paint. I also wanted the two bathrooms to tie together somewhat so they both look like they’ve always been here.
    The ledge tile is marble….we will have a six inch ledge surrounding the tub…you know, to hold all those candles and glasses of wine I will be enjoying in there! (Yeah, right….who am I foolin’? It will hold all the rubber duckies, water guns, water paint sponges, and action figures while my son enjoys his “Relaxitubbing.”)
    Thanks so much for the links! I wish we had one of those stores near me! Oh, well…more inter-browsing for me! We were very lucky with the fixtures. Our builder has an excellent relationship with a local supplier, so we got excellent contractor pricing on everything. So far, we’ve been quite pleased and very relieved. The pricing discrepancies all over along with the markups are outrageous. You really have to do your homework.
    Keep those tips coming!!! I will take any and all. 🙂
    Ummmm….any tips on containing sparkle dust???

    April 24, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    • Glad you are having fun perusing the lighting site (not sure if you are just browsing AffordableLamps.com or also have gone onto http://www.lightnleisure.com/ as well). Yes, homework is definitely required to save $$. I am always amazed at the price discrepancies. Oh, and ALWAYS do a search for discount codes for the particular sites. Again, I am always amazed at the codes you can find!

      You lost me….sparkle dust?? Please explain?

      April 28, 2012 at 7:05 am

      • LOL Damn iPad autocorrect!!!
        Not sparkle dust! (Tinkerbell anyone?) SPACKLE dust! How do you contain SPACKLE dust? We used plastic everywhere, but it still got all over everything. I’m sure I’ll be dealing with it again soon.

        April 28, 2012 at 7:51 am

        • LOL! As I was vacuuming this morning, I realized you probably meant “spackle”!

          Spackle dust is a tough one. I usually use a wet sponge to smooth out spackle (and joint compound), which causes NO dust. However, if you are sanding, you need to cover every nook and cranny with plastic and tape all the edges with low-tac tape. For doorways, we use two sheets (not one) that overlap each other in the center (so you can enter/leave the space easily. Fans in the windows (air blowing OUT) also can help to pull the dust out of the room you are working in.

          April 28, 2012 at 8:16 am

  3. Lovely. I particularly love that vanity unit. Good luck with getting it all in place!

    April 26, 2012 at 5:28 am

Leave a Reply

