A Phoenix Burning

Art in the Abstract

Scott is taking us on a new adventure this month in challenging us to explore Abstract Photography.  Dictionary.com defines this form of art as follows:  “of or pertaining to the formal aspect of art, emphasizing lines, colors, generalized or geometrical forms, etc.,especially with reference to their relationship to one another.”  I love capturing abstract images.  The problem is, I often have difficulty “seeing” them in our everyday surroundings.  I “see” them much easier when I have my extension tubes on and am taking macro shots.  Somehow, wide angle abstract eludes me.  Perhaps this will be my challenge this month…to see the abstract without the macro lens attached.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Go on over to Scott’s place and check out this month’s challenge if you haven’t already done so!  And if you need some inspiration, head on over to Flickr and check out Kozology’s photostream.  I have highlighted his photography before, and believe he is a Master.  Make sure you have plenty of time on your hands before you click the link.  You could get lost in his art for hours. 🙂

Happy seeing!

13 responses

  1. Wow, I love these photos! Beautiful blog, I’m a WordPress photographer too, so I love seeing these posts! Keep it up!

    March 8, 2012 at 9:18 am

    • Thanks for dropping by Aaron. I peeked in on your blog as well…so much to look at over there! I must come back when I have some time on my hands to explore. 🙂

      March 9, 2012 at 6:57 am

  2. Thank you for sharing Kozology’s flickr stream. Full of abstract inspiration as is your slide show. I like that you want to stretch yourself by looking for abstracts where you have had trouble in the past. I bet you’ll soon tune yourself to find them.

    March 8, 2012 at 9:29 am

    • Koz is amazing, isn’t he? I can pick his work out of hundreds of other photos at just a glance. How I wish I could spend just ten minutes seeing through his eyes. 🙂

      March 9, 2012 at 7:00 am

  3. Robby Cowell

    Good stuff, I find it takes ages to develop an abstract eye, but keep at it and things will start jumping out at you!

    March 8, 2012 at 9:47 am

    • Thanks for stopping by Robbie!

      March 9, 2012 at 7:03 am

  4. Gorgeos shots, KD 🙂

    March 8, 2012 at 11:47 am

    • Thanks Daily…they are oldies, but goodies. 🙂

      March 9, 2012 at 7:04 am

  5. Your photos here are fine abstracts, and I love Kozology’s photos – lots of inspiration – I guess I’ll have to participate this time in Scott’s challenge too?!

    March 8, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    • Yes Truels! You have to participate! I always look forward to seeing what you come up with. 🙂

      March 9, 2012 at 7:05 am

  6. That is some seriously beautiful work.

    March 8, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    • Thanks Gerry. Somewhere along the way I feel like my creative eye was struck blind. I’ve been in the dark for awhile…but recently, I’ve begun to see a little light here and there. Maybe, just maybe, my sight will return. 🙂

      March 9, 2012 at 7:08 am

  7. Good stuff! The first two are mah-valous! 🙂

    March 9, 2012 at 4:09 pm

Leave a Reply

