A Phoenix Burning

Rule of Thirds

So, this assignment from Scott was quite instructive!  I spent time looking at photos that seemed “off” when I made them, but couldn’t quite figure out what I wanted to do to “fix” them.  Turns out the Rule of Thirds helps tremendously.  I also applied straightening to some, sharpening, contrast, and saturation fixes on some.  I could have done this all afternoon, but alas, poor me has to go out to dinner.  😉

Here are the befores and afters.

First up, a shot from Animal Kingdom in Orlando, Florida:

Another Animal Kingdom shot:

This shot from EPCOT had so many things wrong with it:

But a little straightening, and some cropping, and voila:

And to think I almost deleted that one.

I wasn’t crazy about this next shot when I took it:

But now:

And a last one of one of my favorite local views…the change isn’t dramatic, but I do think attending to thirds makes it better:

Better:

Thanks Scott,  for another lesson!  I will go back to more of my “garbage” shots later.

4 responses

  1. Nicely done!

    January 16, 2012 at 5:54 pm

  2. You have shown some good examples of the use of these helping “rules”. Resulting in a collection of fine photos 🙂

    January 18, 2012 at 4:14 pm

  3. Love what you did here. Your cropping and editing brought my eye to all the right places in your photos.

    January 21, 2012 at 10:17 am

  4. Pingback: Assignment 17 Recap | Views Infinitum

Leave a Reply

