A Phoenix Burning

Rule of Thirds

So, Scott gave us a new Challenge. Run on over there to check out the details! Since he gave us a lot of leeway and didn’t require new photos, I figure I have no excuse for not participating. I will work on getting some new photos, but for now I decided to go back through my photo stream to pick some ready made examples of the Rule of Thirds.
When I first became tuned in to this rule for photographers, I began noticing its use everywhere…every cinematically brilliant piece I saw, I got distracted noticing the rule put to use on the big screen…for example, this:

Or this:

Or even this:

All of them beautiful, and I’m sure that attention to this rule at the right moments helps make them so.

I can’t say that I attend to this rule thoughtfully, but I do think I tend to apply it naturally. I don’t use the grid lines….in fact, I don’t even know how to turn them on (she says somewhat shamefully) but I suppose I must “see” them in my mind’s eye as I shoot…maybe??? Or maybe not? In truth, I don’t consider rules with my head when I shoot…I just shoot. Sometimes that’s good, sometimes it’s not, but I think we can over think these things sometimes.

But let’s have a look, shall we?
First, an older favorite taken in Saratoga Springs, NY. Although the subject is centered, the horizontal planes follow “the rule” so I think it works as an example, don’t you?

20120107-151500.jpg

An early morning sunrise in Ocean City, NJ:

20120107-151533.jpg

A shot from the Adirondack Balloon Festival, taken two years ago:

20120107-151636.jpg

This is Mary, Queen of the Universe Shrine in Orlando, Florida. This one is debatable I think. Some would say no, it doesn’t work as an example because the focus is up the center aisle, but I still see thirds, again working horizontally. What do all you experts out there say about this one?

20120107-151642.jpg

And two favorites from Ocean City, NJ taken this past summer.

20120107-151654.jpg

20120107-151701.jpg

None of these shots were cropped, so I will go and do that next. Maybe I’ll pull a Karma and offer up more than one challenge post! πŸ˜‰ In any case, you have plenty of time to jump in and participate! Stay tuned for my official entry.

5 responses

  1. Boy do I like that Saratoga racetrack. It is just gorgeous.

    I think the kite flyer may be the best “thirds” example – certainly there’s a lovely line there. This is an interesting assignment.

    January 7, 2012 at 10:24 pm

  2. Nice that you come with all these fine examples of this “rule”. I got very inspired by all your examples here, thank you!
    Like you, I have until now not used this as a consistent tool in my photography. And – as Scott also pointed out – it’s not the intention. The idea is to apply it naturally – like you obviously do!!!
    The great thing about working with an assignment as Scott’s here – it is that by using energy and attention on an issue like this – you can improve your photography and image processing.
    I sat down immediately last night and had suddenly spent a lot of time researching and refreshing the topic. And had suddenly lots of energy to meet the challenge and was busy finding photos I will use for the assignment! And I have probably already now learned a great deal!!!
    And above here I can see, that you felt the same as I did:
    “This is a great assignment, that will help us improve our photography! Thank you, Scott πŸ˜‰ !”

    January 8, 2012 at 10:49 am

  3. Gee, we should make “pull a Karma” a new saying in the blog community, LOL! Looks like you’ve found some great examples to get going with – I can’t wait to see what you do with them and what other photos you may take. I really have no idea what I’m going to do for the assignment.

    January 8, 2012 at 1:33 pm

  4. “Pull a Karma”? Sounds painful if you ask me. πŸ™‚

    Okay, Missy, get out your manual and find out how to turn those viewfinder grid lines on and off. Remember, I am always watching (said like Roz in Monsters, Inc.).

    January 10, 2012 at 4:55 pm

  5. “Pull a Karma”–how funny, KD! (OK, it looks like everyone already said that.) I love your photos here, especially the horse photo, although the kite one is my second favorite. I also listened to the Lion King songs last night–and Aladdin,too–while dancing around the house.

    January 10, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Leave a Reply

