A Phoenix Burning

Precious Moments

I used to hate having my picture taken. I find that is the case with most people who love photography…they are much more comfortable behind the camera than they are in front of it. But time goes so fast…these precious moments pass quickly. We should allow them to be captured so they can be savored in memory again and again. A challenge to all you photographers that read over here…in the New Year, give up control of that camera a little more often, and allow YOUR precious moments to be captured.

20120102-084049.jpg

9 responses

  1. That is a really beautiful picture πŸ™‚

    January 2, 2012 at 8:46 am

  2. So sweet! I usually have to ask someone to take the shot if I want to be in a picture, or set up a selfie.

    January 2, 2012 at 10:13 am

  3. I tried to leave a comment here–you’ll have to take my word for it that it was warm, insightful, appreciative . . . and then it went away. I’m pretty sure it had nothing to do with the Cowboy and everything to do with the winter wind howling about out there. Anyway–this is truly a precious moment, and I am delighted to know that you’re enjoying it while it happens. May 2012 be filled with precious moments.

    January 2, 2012 at 4:08 pm

  4. You are so right!! And I really should get in front of the camera more, if only I didn’t have every picture of me…

    What a sweet picture of you and your little guy β™₯

    January 2, 2012 at 7:28 pm

  5. Kate

    What a sweet photo!

    That’s something that I’m going to try to do more of this year. It’s not that I don’t like getting my picture taken, it’s just that I like doing the taking! Maybe learning the whole self-portrait thing will make for a good resolution this year.

    Happy New Year!

    January 2, 2012 at 9:39 pm

  6. Wonderful photo! I am lucky that my son loves to shoot with my new Canon – and sometimes “hits” his father!

    January 3, 2012 at 12:54 pm

  7. YOU should have your picture taken ALL the time! I came to this realization late this year and decided, what the heck? and guess what?? The camera DIDN’T break! Lol!

    Your little man is a cutie like his momma! πŸ™‚

    January 3, 2012 at 5:09 pm

  8. Awww…I have thousands of 4×6 prints and even more digital images and I bet I am in about 10 of them. I have loosened up some over the past couple of years myself. Of course, your face should be in front of a camera. πŸ™‚

    January 4, 2012 at 4:41 pm

  9. Thank you all for the lovely comments. πŸ™‚ Sorry I’ve gotten a bit behind over here…holiday recuperation, sick kids, and a really good book have been getting my attention. (And no, it isn’t a photography book Scott, sorry.). πŸ˜‰

    January 6, 2012 at 7:51 pm

Leave a Reply

