A Phoenix Burning

There and Back Again

So much going on, and what with my early to bed routine so I can keep up, haven’t had much time to write.

I could talk about a million things…

but I won’t. Or maybe I will…we’ll see where this post takes us, shall we?

Let’s start out with a little Christmas music to set the mood. I share with you the smooth tones of a local boy who made good—our very own Tony DeSare. Tony grew up in our little town and went to school with my sister. It was always a treat to listen to this talented musician/singer at band and choir concerts, and we all had a feeling that something big would be in store for him. Be sure to check out his website for more information.

While I’m on the subject of Tony, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention another talented young man who graduated with Tony, Ted Firth. We have some good musical genes in this town! :). Check out this video of them playing piano earlier in the year.

Our music and drama department has always had a standard of excellence that is unmatched in the region. It is truly the pride of our little town. I knew that I wanted my children to attend school here, not only because I was confident in the teachers, but because I wanted them to have our music department available to them should they express talent and desire. I had a feeling my children *might* have music in their genes…my mother-in-law is a music teacher and pianist, my own family has beautiful voices in the mix (that gene unfortunately skipped me.) As it turns out, both girls got the music genes. (Too soon to tell with Mister!) Big Girl has a beautiful voice and perfect pitch (and reluctantly plays the flute.) But desire? Not so much. Little Girl plays piano and viola and seems to learn effortlessly. Desire? She’s got it. In fact, at ten, she already thinks she wants to be a music teacher. I’m thinking we made the right choice in schools.

In other news, we’ve been busy shopping and wrapping and baking and exhausting. In between we have been dealing with an intense exasperation of Mister’s reflux caused by a stomach bug and post nasal drip from a possible tree allergy. (This is new…we may have to go artificial in the future, but I refuse to entertain that notion right now…I am “real” all the way and it gives me the weenies (damn autocorrect!) the weepies to think of ending that tradition.) What this means is that Zan and I have had a roommate for the past week since my darling boy is afraid to sleep in his own room in case “the throw ups come back.” (Remember my last post? Um, yeah…he threw up the very next night. Cruel irony, don’t you think?) His eating is off, his belly ache comes and goes, and he’s pale one moment, pink the next. Hopefully the increased meds the doctor prescribed will do the trick soon…in the meantime it’s a bit of a roller coaster ride.
While we are talking about medical situations, my back is faring well, and I’m managing the Fibro with an early bedtime, shortened shopping trips, and lots of tea breaks throughout my days. I’m finding my lack of stamina extremely frustrating, but trying to take it all in stride. It is what it is.

And now I have to run like the wind…(okay fine then, walk like the breeze) and do a little (okay, fine, a lot) of house tidying in preparation for our family Christmas gathering on Saturday. Not to mention that trip to the store because we’ve been out of garbage bags for two days (those plastic shopping bags only hold so much) and not to mention the laundry I became painfully aware that I have to do (when Little Girl was stomping around irritably looking for socks and pants this morning…oops!)
A little Johnny should get me moving. Cue Christmas music, aaaaaaand GO!

5 responses

  1. Bon Jovi’s got a nice song – and girl! – there, but my favorites were Tony’ to pieces – with Tony and Ted playing the piano as NO. 1! You are lucky to have so much music talent in your town – and in your house ;-). My youngest girl (21) has also been playing piano (and more) for many years. Lovely1

    December 15, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    • Isn’t that piano fantastic?!?! I’m glad you enjoyed it Truels….that’s my favorite too. 🙂

      December 15, 2011 at 9:42 pm

  2. Hope little Mister is feeling better soon! No fun for anyone when the little ones are ill. Sounds like your days (minus the pain management for me) are similar to mine, hurrying about, trying to get it all done in bits and pieces. I’ve been wanting to blog more too but feel unable to get my thoughts collected into something coherent!

    December 15, 2011 at 8:17 pm

  3. I wouldn’t call this post coherent either! LOL
    So much going on…I have all these threads of ideas running around in my head but can’t bring them together into something sensible. Tis the season! 🙂

    December 15, 2011 at 9:45 pm

  4. Kate

    Your life echoes mine, but looks like the end may be in sight. The kids’ semester finals started this week, and they’ll be out next Wed. for Christmas break. Think I”ll be able to breath then.

    Hope your little boy gets to feeling better soon, and hang in there! : )

    December 16, 2011 at 4:38 pm

Leave a Reply

