A Phoenix Burning

Fears

My poor sweet boy. Every single night he lays awake in bed until he finally asks me to answer the following four questions:

Will spiders crawl in my mouth?
Of course not Honey.

Will I throw up in my bed?
No, you aren’t sick so you will be fine.

Are all the doors locked so no bad guys can get in?
Yes, I checked them all.

Will the smoke detectors go off?
No Honey. (Please God.)

And then he can finally settle in with the reassurance that he is safe and all is well. My poor sweet boy. Scary thoughts are such a nuisance, aren’t they?

8 responses

  1. Katie

    my boy has the same fear of spiders. you gotta admit, the way they scamper about is a bit terrifying! hope your boy sleeps well tonight!

    December 6, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    • Yes Katie…creepy creepy! All his fears are understandable…over the summer he had a spider drop down from his ceiling light, not one night, but two nights in a row…traumatic! And a month ago he threw up in his bed when he got the stomach bug. And his first fire drill at school was scary for him back in October…not to mention that same week our Carbon Monoxide detectors were going off at home and we had to call the fire department in to check everything out…again, traumatic! Poor boy! The locked doors? Not sure where that one came from! It’s tough to be four.

      December 7, 2011 at 7:32 am

  2. Aww, poor baby 😦
    Hopefully pretty soon he will be able to go to sleep without having to ask these questions, because he will know that all will be well.

    December 7, 2011 at 12:51 pm

  3. The scary thoughts never go away for us boys… They just change… Such as…
    “Will I really be able to digest ALL of that burger”
    “Am I going to get in to trouble for buying the latest iPhone”
    “Will she let me go out drinking with the boys this weekend”
    “Will I still be able to keep up with them, and not be ill”
    “Where the heck did I put my photography magazine”
    “Why is their more hair in my ears than on my head”
    “Why don’t sheep shrink when it rains”

    Yeah it’s tough being a boy… You just don’t realise the things we go through… πŸ˜‰

    December 7, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    • LOL, Brian!

      December 7, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    • Yeah, men have it really tough. Poor things. πŸ˜‰

      December 9, 2011 at 8:10 am

  4. Bad streak of luck for your little guy. Hopefully his bedtime thoughts will soon be visions of sugarplums dancing in his head – or whatever the 21st century equivalent of a sugarplum is! πŸ˜‰

    December 7, 2011 at 7:27 pm

  5. Oh…oh your poor sweet boy. Oh how we all want to be safe and keep the spiders and monsters of life at bay. I think about how there is probably a scared child within all of us that we’ve abandoned as we grew up, and how we should probably whisper to ourselves sometimes, “It’s going to be OK. Everything is going to be all right.” Thanks, KD, for making me think this morning.

    December 10, 2011 at 10:59 am

Leave a Reply

