A Phoenix Burning

And So It Begins…

…the Holiday Season.

Tomorrow, this home begins to fill with family, chatter, laughter, and good smells, and it will be overflowing until Sunday.  So much to be thankful for this year.

It’s been a challenging year, but the mountain doesn’t loom nearly as large as it once did.  For that I am grateful.

I am thankful for my immediate family…my home is a happy one, our bonds are strong ones, and laughter is often.  That’s not to say we don’t have our moments, but the good far outweighs the bad and for that I am grateful.

I am thankful for my extended family…our parents are still with us, healthy, active, connected.  Our siblings are our best friends, and their families thrive despite some bumps in the road.  Aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, cousins… All are well, and for that I am grateful.

I am thankful for my friends, near and far…they are also our family, and have been with us through thick and thin. They enrich our lives in so many ways, and for that I am grateful.

I am thankful for all the experiences that have opened my mind, taken me out of my comfort zone, and strengthened my connection with The Almighty. For those I am grateful.

I am thankful for my home with it’s leaky roof, and it’s cracking walls, and it’s old fashioned charm.  It is warm and comfortable, homey and loved.  All it’s flaws remind me that we bought what we could easily afford.  In this time when people have overextended and lost all they had, I am reminded that we made a blessed choice, and for that I am grateful.

I am thankful for the ability to see beauty in a clean sunlit window, a wrinkled face, a shriveling flower, a barren winter-ready world.  There is wonder all around and I am open to grace however it happens to find me.  For that I am grateful.

I wish you all a Blessed Thanksgiving, and a joyful kickoff to a Christmas Season filled with the things that matter.

10 responses

  1. Lovely sentiments, KD.

    November 22, 2011 at 3:34 pm

  2. (pushed post comment too quickly!) And happy Thanksgiving to you too!

    November 22, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    • Happy Thanksgiving to you too Karma! 🙂

      November 22, 2011 at 7:48 pm

  3. Aww, what a beautiful post!
    I love this picture, and how you processed it. Even from the picture you can tell that it’s not just a house, it’s a home ♥

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    November 22, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    • Thanks so much Daily. 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving to you!

      November 22, 2011 at 7:49 pm

  4. I must admit…I am a little bit jealous of you! You describe your family connections so beautifully. (Mine are all scattered and we aren’t as close-knit as I’d always dreamed we’d be. Guess the Norman Rockwell dream didn’t come true for me 😉 ). BUT, that doesn’t mean I am not grateful, because I am and every day I feel I am truly blessed.

    Love and peace will most certainly radiate from your home this Thanksgiving! So glad it will wrap warmly around you like a giant hug!

    Happpy Thanksgiving!

    November 22, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    • We are so very fortunate….although Norman Rockwell paintings, we are not!! LOL Our families aren’t perfect, but I’m glad they’re mine. 🙂
      Happy Thanksgiving to you.

      November 22, 2011 at 8:09 pm

  5. I’m sorry that I missed this when you first posted it, it is beautiful! So much to be thankful for. 🙂

    November 30, 2011 at 1:43 pm

  6. Thanks, KD…I did and will do. You do the same, mon ami.

    November 30, 2011 at 9:32 pm

  7. We are so lucky. It is hard to remember that. I am blessed to have you. We make up the salt of this earth. The heart of this country. We are the ones that stay together when together is hard. We are the ones that get up and keep moving when just breathing hurts. I talk to so many people like us. So many others that just want to get their kids safely educated and maybe married. To make a future that will include moments of excitement not yet had. We believe that the best is always yet to come. We work even when others would quit. We stop far after we should have put the paintbrush down. We care too little about ourselves. I think that is the lesson that God has been teaching us this year. There must be a balance. You work, you rest. Balance. You eat, you stop eating. Balance. You scrub and clean and then let it get dirty again. Balance. I am forever thankful I am not doing this alone.

    November 30, 2011 at 10:30 pm

Leave a Reply

