A Phoenix Burning

Image

My Lucky Day

So…I went to Dunkin’ Donuts this morning for a cup of coffee. I handed the cashier $20.02. He gave me $98.00 back! Whoohoo! A little extra cash for the holidays!!!! πŸ™‚

JUST KIDDING!!!! You should know me better than that by now!

So I went in and said, “I believe I gave you a twenty not a hundred.” He said,”No you gave me a hundred…it’s in my drawer…want to see it?” “Yes please…I don’t know how a hundred dollar bill could have gotten in my wallet.”
He opened his drawer, turned bright red, then went pale. “Oh my God you’re right…it was a twenty.”
Poor boy…he apologized and thanked me profusely, and went on to say,”Most people wouldn’t have come back.”

It did make me wonder…is that true??? Or is that a false assumption? Would you have gone back, or would you have figured it was your lucky day?

20111112-095748.jpg

5 responses

  1. Great story! πŸ™‚

    Yes, I would have gone back. (Well, I probably would have realized as he was handing me the change that an error had occurred and would have made him aware then). What can I say? Momma raised me well. πŸ™‚

    Actually, I’ve been in his position and would have known that at the end of the day, when they counted his drawer, they would have made HIM pay the $70.00 under difference OR worse yet, would have accused him of stealing and fired him right then and there.

    You were tested today, KD, and you PASSED with flying colors! Woohoo! πŸ˜€

    November 12, 2011 at 10:18 am

  2. You know Tracy, he took forever making my change (I was at the drive thru) and I knew the wad was thick, but assumed that it was a bunch of ones and that’s why it took him so long. LOL
    I started to edge away while flipping through the money, and realized right away, but not soon enough to stay at the window. Silly me…next time I will stay put. πŸ™‚

    November 12, 2011 at 11:07 am

    • This extra bit of information actually makes your story even MORE compelling! OBVIOUSLY, you were in the drive-thru to make your transaction easier for you and it took effort to go BACK and make things right.

      Your halo is shining BRIGHTLY today, KD! Bravo!! πŸ˜€

      November 12, 2011 at 12:24 pm

  3. You lucky duck, KD… hey, did you know my initials are “KD” too? I think it was a lucky moment for you. And you did good by it.

    November 12, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    • Well, my initials are a bit of a convoluted story…but that is the name I came up with way back in my early online days, and it stuck. πŸ™‚

      November 13, 2011 at 8:43 am

Leave a Reply

