A Phoenix Burning

Best of 2011

As all of you know, I’ve been a bit (okay, more than a bit) quiet on the Photo Challenge front.  The Fibromyalgia diagnosis and the two bulging discs kicked my butt from March through September, so the photographer in me was quite neglected. Thank the good Lord (and my team of doctors, acupuncturist, and chiropractor) that I am gaining ground and finally back participating in the Land of the Living.  I was close to adding psychiatrist to that team, but things came together just in time to get me back on track.

My poor, poor lonely camera had a long year with many and long bouts of dust collecting.  However, I was happy upon looking back to see that I DID take some photos this year, and even a few that deserve a little highlight in my “Best of 2011” post for Scott’s assignment.  Most of these you have already seen as I tend to build my posts around favorites, but there might be a few new ones for you in here somewhere.

This photo was taken last Christmas while decorating for the holiday.  We were testing the red bulbs and:

This next one was probably my very favorite, simply because it was an adorable moment.  I was taking photos of this sign “Because Nice Matters” and my son peeked in as I was snapping a shot and said, “Whatcha doin’?”  Perfect timing.

I highlighted this next photo in this post.  I just loved my niece’s expression.  Not even close to technically perfect, but I love it anyway.

This next photo was taken on my son’s fourth birthday.  This is a favorite because it is the first time I ever used flash (my new-at-Christmas SB-600) correctly.  Unfortunately, it was also one of a very few times I used it correctly.  Good intentions of becoming proficient with flash evaporated when things went haywire.  Maybe 2012 will see me more successful.

This next photo was a favorite from my trip to Newport.

Next are my favorite flower shots of the year.

My favorite self-portrait…well, it’s my favorite because it’s my only.  😉

Next up, my favorite black and white from my daughter’s 11 inch donation to Locks of Love:

My favorite vacation shot…I posted about this one here.

And another from vacation that is near and dear to my heart:

 

 

Here’s my favorite shot of my oldest daughter from 2011:

And my most recent favorite shot…these chocolate chip cookies are gluten free! (And oh, soooo gooooood.)

When looking back, I notice that all my favorites are of the “small” moments.  Seems to be a pattern with me, doesn’t it?

There’s a reason my photo wall contains the quote: “Our lives are made in these small hours…”

20 responses

  1. I love your choices! I’ve been busily working on my favorites for Scott’s assignment too, and I’m ending up writing multiple posts because I’m having trouble narrowing down. I love how your shots feature your family: I’ve been struggling with whether to include shots with my girls in them because I think I’m the only one who really enjoys them, but here I am really enjoying your “kid shots.” It must be because of the beautiful way you bring out their personalities; I think I have trouble doing that, but maybe I shouldn’t think so much! By the way, lovely as your self-portrait is, you are wrong – it isn’t your only one this year. Did you forget this very inspirational one? https://ahalfhouraday.wordpress.com/2011/08/10/doing-nothing/

    November 12, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    • Thank you Karma! You know, I think the photos of my family are often my best photos…I rarely have them pose for shots. My camera is always out on my desk, ready to be used, so if I see a moment happening I grab it. I may say, “Hey look at me for a minute,” but I take what I can get. Sometimes I miss it, and that’s okay too. It helps that none of them are shy around the camera. I think they have come to see it as an extension of me. As far as capturing their personalities, I think you see that because those are the times I’m grabbing pictures…when they are doing something that screams of their personality, that’s when I grab my camera.
      And yes, I do remember that shot! However, Zan took it, so I didn’t think I could call it a self portrait. :). I will be looking forward to seeing all of your “bests.” You’ve come a long way! Congratulations on all you’ve learned…it really shows. x

      November 13, 2011 at 8:23 am

  2. Sooo many great ones, KD! VERY cute self portraits, and the ones of your kids are so sweet!
    LOVE that song! ♥ I could listen to it all day long. The movie (“Meet the Robinsons”) was really good, too. Definitely worth watching if you haven’t seen it.

    November 12, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    • Thank you Daily!

      Like a wedding song, that has become my family’s theme song. 🙂
      And yes, I looooove that movie…very special.

      November 13, 2011 at 8:26 am

  3. A most wonderful photo look-back over the year. Funny how we all agonize over the ‘big moments’ when it is the small things we treasure and miss most. Wonderful song. I smiled today becuase of it.

    I am glad to hear you are on a straight path to healing! Woo hoo! 🙂

    November 13, 2011 at 2:14 pm

  4. Pingback: Best of, Part 5 « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

  5. Kate

    I love that photo of your niece—she looks rather mischievous!

    Glad to hear that you’re feeling a tad bit better, hope it continues! Have a great day!

    November 15, 2011 at 8:18 am

    • Thank you Kate! Oh,and she IS as mischievous as that photo makes her look! 🙂 She just graduated from high school, and all I can think is, “Watch out world! Here she comes!” She’s a mover and a shaker and I see great things coming from that girl. 🙂 Love her.

      November 16, 2011 at 7:45 am

  6. Nye

    I really enjoy looking at your best photos of 2011, the nice sign is my favorite. Each photo has its own personality and you have captured life’s moment well.

    I’m so glad to hear that you are doing better, and thanks for the song. 🙂

    November 16, 2011 at 12:57 am

  7. It is a nice collection you have picked KD. I like the shot of your son and the sign very much. You caught “it”.

    November 18, 2011 at 9:33 am

    • Thank you Carsten! I think my boy deserves all the credit for that one! 🙂

      November 26, 2011 at 7:45 am

  8. You are clever at photographing many subjects – your flower photos are great – but your portraits captures fine moments with your children. My favorite is the photo with your son, “Because Nice Matters”.

    November 20, 2011 at 10:04 am

    • Thanks so much Truels. 🙂

      November 26, 2011 at 7:47 am

  9. Pingback: Assignment 16 Recap | Views Infinitum

  10. Small moments are the best moments. Love the kids…all the kid shots.

    November 23, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    • Thank you Dawn! Glad you stopped by. 🙂

      November 26, 2011 at 7:47 am

  11. Your photos are amazing. I really love the self portrait and the flowers photos are amazing. I love the picture of the cookies and the look on your sons face in the background. I also read that they are gluten-free cookies and they look better than any g-f cookies ive made. Did you use a mix or recipe?? Happy Blogging!

    November 25, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    • Thank you Phoenix! I am new to the whole wheat free lifestyle…a little over two months in, but feeling so much better that I am committed to continuing. I have been extremely fortunate to find some awesome resources right off the bat. I have a dear friend who clued me in to his friend Silvana Nardone’s blog, which led me to her cookbook “Cooking for Isaiah” which is an excellent resource. Also, from the Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day folks, I have been baking some wonderful GF bread out of their “Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day” cookbook. I even made my own GF stuffing from their bread for Thanksgiving and no one knew the difference. 🙂 These chocolate chip cookies are soooooo good! They are actually an Alton Brown recipe…just google it and you will find it. I think it was on Food.com, but not 100% sure. Unlike regular chocolate chip cookies, these are actually yummier cooled a bit.
      Thanks for stopping in!

      November 26, 2011 at 7:59 am

      • Thank you so much! I’ll be sure to google it. I LOVE Sylvia’s cookbook and I have it as well. I actually buy Namaste gluten-free Perfect Flour Blend and use it cup for cup in most of my “normal” recipes. My great-grandma’s snickerdoodles taste the same even though I use the flour blend.

        It is a tough transition to GF. If you feel better it is absolutely worth while. My husband and I both eat gluten-free at home. I’ve only been at it for a year and a half and I make lots of food that masquerades as “normal food” lol.

        Trader Joes is a great place to find gluten-free foods as well as brown rice pasta (for less expensive than the regular grocery store). Whole Foods has some really good gf beer if youre into that kind of thing. 🙂

        Congrats on Gluten-Free eating.
        P.S. Again, your pics are wonderful

        November 27, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Leave a Reply

