A Phoenix Burning

Glorious Weekends and Other Things

Chiropractor, new meds, no wheat?  Who knows, but I am feeling MUCH better.  That means, I can DOOOO things!  I can sit for awhile, I can stand for awhile, I can walk for awhile…all of which open up all sorts of new opportunities for our family.  🙂

This past weekend was not only GLORIOUS weather wise, but busy.  We couldn’t have asked for better weather…It was an Indian Summer, as Scott has already mentioned, and I don’t remember an October with such warmth since my oldest daughter was just months old.

Saturday was our high school football game.  Big Girl is playing flute in the Pep Band, so we went along to cheer on our team.  I haven’t been to a football game in years, and I have to admit, I kinda liked it.  😉  I took along my special bleacher seat, saving my rump from the steel bleachers, and snapped away with my camera.  A couple of keepers:

And Sunday was our Thirteenth Annual Apple Picking Outing with our good friends, The Anywho Family.  Anywho and I have been friends since our first year of college.  It used to be the two of us, then along came Zan, then along came Mr. Anywho, and then…well…..

A couple more from the day:

And then there was Monday…just as the kids and I were feeling a bit lost on such a beautiful day, Zan called to say he was on his way home early.  With Daddy back in our midst, we took a little venture over to his parents’ camp on a little lake, stopping for ice cream on the way, and were greeted by the most phenomenal display of foliage we have seen yet this season.  We walked, we (okay, the kids and Zan) skipped some stones, and enjoyed the last vestiges of warmth.  Here are a couple more shots from yesterday, taken with my iPhone because dummy stupid silly me forgot my D90.

“Autumn is a second spring where every leaf is a flower.” -Albert Camus

3 responses

  1. It WASD a glorious weekend! Looks like you guys took advantage of it! Love the B/W shot of the refs…very classic. Ooooh, apple picking. I, for one, am looking so forward to apple pies! Nothing better! 🙂

    SOOOOOO glad you are feeling better!! Hooray! You so deserve it!

    October 11, 2011 at 7:26 pm

  2. Glad you are feeling more human these days! Whatever is working for you, I hope it keeps working. I LOVE the selective coloring picture of your daughter with the apple. I’ve got to learn how to do that some time.

    October 14, 2011 at 12:03 pm

  3. Good to hear your changes are having a positive effect, especially as you were able to get out and capture a great selection of shots..

    October 18, 2011 at 2:02 am

Leave a Reply

