A Phoenix Burning

Blue…

Last week my husband was away installing a new office for his company.  (He is Director of Infrastructure and Technology for a “Major Corporation.”) (Isn’t that what they always say on the Price is Right?)  Although we survived the week, we were very blue, especially since he had to leave at Noon on Sunday and didn’t return home until dinnertime the following Saturday, so we had some weekend time without Daddy…our misser was very sore.

Yesterday, he received this beautiful blue orchid as a thank you for all his hard work and dedication during the move.  According to the instructions, the new blooms will be white, so the blue is temporary.  My camera has been lonely lately, so this was a good opportunity to pull it back out and capture those blue blooms before they leave for good.  I’m a bit rusty I’m afraid…really should have played up my aperture more, but I wasn’t thinking. Guess I really need to get reacquainted with my dear friend.

5 responses

  1. My favorite of these fine abstracts is the first – nice, soft and warm tones in so many different colors. The blue ones are fine too – but a bit cold and scary!

    October 6, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    • That first one was my favorite too! The color on that top bud was much lighter than the rest…quite a pretty soft blue. The others were much deeper, and I see why you would associate them with “cold.” 🙂

      October 7, 2011 at 7:07 am

  2. I love how you played with the different angles and such. These look like paintings.
    Question, however: why did they give a guy a flower as a thank you? A bit unusual, no?

    October 10, 2011 at 8:49 am

  3. Great photos. At first I didn’t know what I was looking at!

    October 17, 2011 at 9:50 pm

  4. I don’t think you needed to have played much with the settings.. These look pretty perfect to me…

    October 18, 2011 at 1:59 am

Leave a Reply

