A Phoenix Burning

Her Tomato Plants

Our vacation house is the one in the middle.

Sunset Over Our House

But I can’t help but think of the home next door tonight. That beautiful home on the left is just that…a home. Not a vacation home…it is a single family, year round home, complete with tomato garden. I spoke briefly to the owner while we were there three weeks ago as she tended to her lovely garden. And tonight that was the first thought I had…not concern for her beautiful property…no, I got choked up over the likely loss of her beautiful tomato plants, so lovingly tended.

Hoping she and her family have evacuated as they were supposed to.

Tonight my thoughts are there, so I will share “there” with you.

Our Daily Path from the House

Take Flight

Dave and His Girls

Alex Flying a Kite

Mom and Ella

“The wise man in the storm prays to God, not for safety from danger, but deliverance from fear.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

7 responses

  1. Every time the news speaks of ‘mandatory evacuations’, I wonder, ‘where would I go?’ I can’t imagine being forced to leave ones home. The logical side knows it is best for those in the path of the storm – risking the loss of life is not worth staying – but my emotional side wants to stay and ‘protect’ all the little things we pour ourselves into. This morning, I went out, filling feeders and feeding critter like most mornings, giving a little ‘extra’ just in case I cannot go out tomorrow. The wildlife have beome one of the ‘little things’. Therefore, I can so relate to your fixation on the tomato plants. You often hear stories of the things that ‘survived’ against all odds. You just never know…her tomato plants may come through this.

    August 27, 2011 at 8:40 am

  2. I sure hope they survive the onslaught as unscathed as possible… tomato plants and all… It must be terrifying for everyone involved…

    August 28, 2011 at 10:48 am

  3. You captured some wonderful moments from this beutiful place, and it’s hard to imagine a terrible storm passing and destroying much of this……

    August 29, 2011 at 9:49 am

  4. And the “there” is beautiful. How did he stay on the ground flying the kite? 🙂

    I can imagine those homes have seen their share of wind and water. They can be repaired and the tomatoes, while a sad loss, is not detrimental in our world of today. Best to be alive to plant more next year.

    August 29, 2011 at 11:51 am

  5. Sounds like the sea water didn’t breach the dunes after all.
    Scott, I fully expected my boy to get lifted in the air! LOL He’s a skinny little thing, but stronger than he looks…he’s got a grip like iron. 🙂

    August 29, 2011 at 2:04 pm

  6. This is a fine post, and my favorite part is “deliverance from fear.” May the tomatoes thrive, may the dunes shift as they do. May all our kites stay in the air.

    August 29, 2011 at 8:57 pm

  7. What a lovely place to have a holiday, or any other type of home. Hope it’s all still there and fully intact. Really nice post

    August 30, 2011 at 3:52 am

Leave a Reply

