A Phoenix Burning

Test of Mommy Fortitude

Burn Baby, Burn!

This creepy campfire shot from years ago seemed appropriate for this post…

So, Zan announced to me the other night that Dear Neighbor Man wants to go camping. Not just any old camping trip mind you. He wants to have a Daddy and Kids Adventure, complete with no Mommies…on an island…in the middle of a lake…reachable only by boat…with no bathroom facilities…and lions…and tigers…and bears, OH, MY! Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating with the lions, tigers and bears part, but the rest is all true.

This announcement sent my panic meter into overdrive. The Whatifs started flashing by my eyes like a high speed movie straight out of Lost’s Dharma Room 29. The Whatifs are too numerous to list but they include anything ranging from poison ivy to snake bite to loss of life and limb in a variety of horrific imagined scenarios.

But in my quest to be a rational Mommy who doesn’t allow fear to restrict her childrens’ experiences, I said, “I’m sure you and the girls would enjoy that,” which was immediately followed by, “Oh, we’re taking Mister too! He’ll have a blast!!!”.

Exit air from Mommies lungs. Gasp for breath. Breathe through the panic. Breathe, breathe, breathe.

My darling husband wants to take my four year old boy, MY BABY, on a camping trip in the middle of Nowhere! Don’t get me wrong…I love the fact that these men, both wonderful Fathers WANT to do this thing with their kids (six kids by the way…they are WAY outnumbered without us women…) But…but…but….*breathe*

He quickly follows up with, “Imagine, you and A. would have the whole weekend alone to do whatever you want!” Ooooooh….now he’s playing dirty. An enticing proposition, I won’t lie. Responsible Worry Wart Never-Wants-to-be-Parted-From-Her-Kids Mommy on one shoulder being bullied by Irresponsible Selfish Wants-to-Do-Anything-She-Damn-Well-Pleases Mommy on the other. SO not fair.

Tell me, why do they have to push the envelope? Why couldn’t they first take the kids on a little local adventure at the nice safe campground 15 minutes away so I could swoop in at a moments notice and see my babies between my massage and my afternoon matinee? A nice little spot that is Ambulance accessible? With bathrooms…and a First Aid station?

That sounds like a win-win to me, don’t you agree??

10 responses

  1. I say let them go…. under the ONE condition that they take TWO boats!! Just in case, ya know? πŸ™‚
    Enjoy your time to yourself, because us mommies sure don’t get enough of that, at least not without sacrificing sleep! If the guys are in over their heads and can’t handle the kids by themselves, then they’ll be back early. Chances are, they will be just fine. Look at it this way: if they’re on an island, at least they can’t “lose” any of the kids πŸ˜‰

    July 19, 2011 at 7:47 am

    • Ha! They can’t lose anyone….EXCEPT OVER THE EDGE!!
      See…I’m hopeless! LOL

      July 22, 2011 at 8:16 pm

  2. I agree with Michaela – they should go. Gotta trust that the dads are capable parents who aren’t going to let anything happen to the kids. I can’t imagine being “given” a weekend alone. Although I can’t help but wonder what your girls will think of the no bathroom facilities!

    July 19, 2011 at 7:58 am

    • Definitely trust the Dads…it’s the Wilderness that’s a sketchy character. πŸ˜‰
      And I know the Teen is not loving the no bathroom idea…but she would suck it up if she had to. πŸ™‚

      July 22, 2011 at 8:18 pm

  3. I’m soooooo trying my hardest not to add even more thoughts to your concerns… lol… Imagine if they’re abducted by a rabid gaggle of killer penguins… πŸ˜‰

    MAYBE you could find a hotel and spa to pamper yourself in near by, so that you could paddle by occasionally to check on them… Now THAT sounds like a win-win… πŸ˜‰

    July 19, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    • You’d be hard pressed to come up with a scenario I haven’t already imagined on my own! *ha* πŸ™‚

      July 22, 2011 at 8:19 pm

  4. Why you ask? Because we are guys and guys go whole hog. I will not tell you not to worry but I will ask you to trust. Oh, and go out and spoil yourself. That is another thing the guys want…just make sure you tell him you missed HIM as well as the kids when they return from their adventures with fun stories to share.

    July 21, 2011 at 7:19 am

    • Men!!! LOL

      I’ll have to start a list of ideas for my weekend. πŸ˜‰

      July 22, 2011 at 8:23 pm

  5. I am absolutely positive that the kids will go on the trip and come back in one piece, and that you will develop a deep appreciation for a bit of Time To Yourself. (I think I must tell you a story about Rob the Firefighter’s first backpacking trip with his dad and his Uncle Rick. RTFF was about 3. The other participants were marginally older.)

    July 22, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    • I will look forward to hearing that story Gerry! πŸ™‚

      July 22, 2011 at 8:28 pm

Leave a Reply

