A Phoenix Burning

Therapy for the Soul…

In just a matter of days, we will be returning to one of my favorite places to vacation—Ocean City, NJ.

Interestingly, I found our blog friend Scott Thomas by following Ocean City photos back to their source quite a few years ago, way back at “View 32.” 🙂

My family discovered Ocean City when I was about 15 years old, and we have all returned regularly ever since. This year we will return for the third summer in a row with my Mom and Dad, and my Sister, Brother-in-Law and their two girls. We share a house directly on the beach, and you couldn’t ask for a more relaxing setting to get away from it all. There is something very comforting about returning year after year to the same location to vacation. We already know the lay of the land, where to go for groceries and sundries, and of course we can look forward to all the favorite food joints we’ve come to love over the years: fried scallop takeout from Mike’s, ice cream sundaes from A’La Mode, salt water taffy and fudge from Shriver’s, and of course my very favorite thing from the Boardwalk, chocolate macaroons from George’s.

I cannot wait to live in a bathing suit for a week, and sit in the water with my feet buried in the sand. Not sure who is more excited this year, Zan and me, or the kids!

I leave you with a few shots from last year’s trip…nothing beats the sunrise over the ocean.

3 responses

  1. Looks like a wonderful place… Sure hope you have a great time, and come back full of shots… 🙂

    July 18, 2011 at 4:06 pm

  2. I wish you are lovely holiday – I just came back from a holiday by the Danish Westcoast – which also is a place I have been many times during almost 50 years!

    July 19, 2011 at 3:08 pm

  3. Whoa…a pingback from wayback! That post gets hit a lot as people plan vacations each year as I am sure this one will be. It has been a very trying year for you so I hope this time on beach refreshes you.

    July 21, 2011 at 7:14 am

Leave a Reply

