A Phoenix Burning

Hello Again World…How Are You?

Well well well…it’s been awhile since we’ve chatted, hasn’t it?

Feel like I’ve been riding a broken roller coaster at the amusement park, only I’m not amused.  Up and down we go, stopping and starting along the way, sometimes at the top of a hill, sometimes stalling at the bottom, but on and on it goes, the ride that never ends.  *ha*

The back/sciatic nerve is old news…wish it didn’t even warrant a mention anymore.  Acupuncture has been helpful in the extreme, but everytime I start to ramp up my activity, it ramps up it’s activity in kind.  I am learning to adjust with each flare up, and each one lasts a shorter amount of time, but I won’t deny that each flare up sends me to an unhealthy mental place.  Been reading alot about the Soul/Mind/Body connection though, and working to keep my Mind in it’s rightful place, Soul in charge.

We’ve also been dealing for two (three?) weeks with an invasion of these horrible little teeny tiny critters called Springtails.  They have covered the exterior of my house, and began invading through the windowsills.  The first night I found them I FREAKED out!  Not knowing what they were, they gave me quite a scare, sending me into extreme Fight or Flight mode.  My Pest Man has moved up to third on my “Most Important Men in My Life” List, right below my Husband, and my Needle Man.  He is slowly getting them under control, as we eliminate any possible sources of them outside.  They may have come in a wood pile that was delivered a month ago…or we disturbed a nest of them under a flagstone slab when we put up the temporary pool and had to drain it almost immediately after filling because it was lopsided.  Who knows? But millions of teeny bugs trying to get into your house, no matter how “harmless” is unsettling in the extreme.  Borax and Clorox have become my number one cleaning team.  Sick of having all my windows closed though.  Ugh!  Thank goodness for AC.  Seriously, they make me want to move. ‘Nuff said.

I have had to miss my Niece’s graduation two weeks ago, and a Family Reunion today, but I have my eye on the prize…an Ocean City, NJ vacation in a few weeks.  Even if I have to be strapped to the roof on a mattress, I’m GOING!!!!  🙂

Let’s see if we can find some good news to share?  Having the kids home has been a pleasure.  Little Girl is thriving with all her activities, and Big Girl is enjoying the teenager’s version of vacation: sleeping in, chatting with friends, and having sleepovers and days at the amusement park.  Mister is adjusting to having to share Mommy and the TV, and is simply  “chillaxin'” as the teenagers say.

We’re having the Construction Guy back next week to get serious about the work that needs doing.  Thought long and hard about needs versus wants and must have him back to form a plan.  Sadly, my slate roof will likely be sacrificed, but if it means a healthier, more pest proof home, so be it.

Sorry, but that’s all I’ve got. LOL

Haven’t posted much because who wants to hear my woes?  I’ll be back when I’ve got something worth saying.  🙂

8 responses

  1. When my parents lived in the tropics their house was on a hill with pole supports, every creepy crawly known to man would crawl up the poles and into the house. They got some sort of stuff that you painted on and it would kill everything that crawled over it and the stuff lasted three months. (sorry I never got the actual brand name)
    They loved the stuff, mostly because many of the things there were poisonous and NOT what you would want to stand on by mistake. In the wet season when the bugs got really bad my Dad would use the stuff every month and it dropped dead every insect that walked over it.
    Maybe this could be (part) of the solution to your problem?

    July 9, 2011 at 9:49 am

    • Oh, wow! Wish I knew what it was!
      They are truly making me crazy. Supposedly they disappear after about three weeks or so…it is three weeks today and they show no signs of wanting to “disappear.” My deck was loaded with them last night. Can’t enjoy being out there once dusk approaches. Maddening!

      July 11, 2011 at 6:50 am

      • Hmm, sadly my late Mother would have been the sort of person to be internet savvy and also know what the name was, I can ask my Father but he doesn’t have internet and he lives in New Zealand ( and I live in The Netherlands) I’m writing this week to him, and will ask, but it will take some time to get there and to get a reply back again… I’ll let you know if he replies with a brand name.

        July 11, 2011 at 1:10 pm

  2. Hey, we all need to whine now and again, KD! Sounds like things will be getting better for you – and when vacation is in sight, it is wonderful to have something to look forward to. Its been quite a while since we’ve seen much of your lovely photography; maybe you could post some of those.

    July 11, 2011 at 8:12 am

  3. Dittoing, Karma. Let’s see some of your stuff either new or new to us. 🙂 The New Jersey shore…those chocolate macaroons are calling your name.

    July 11, 2011 at 2:50 pm

  4. Maybe this will cheer you a little. Remember I mentioned a friend who has fibro, gluten intolerance & a lot of pain? I sent her a link to one of your acupuncture posts and she has since returned to her Needle Woman & is getting results! You never know how you might affect others in a positive way! 🙂

    P.s. – Ewww on the bugs! Never heard of them. Good luck!

    July 13, 2011 at 6:52 am

    • Very glad to hear some good coming from my posts. 🙂 Thanks for letting me know. I wish her well.

      July 13, 2011 at 7:15 pm

  5. Looking forward to seeing new posts from you KD, knowing that they come when you’re better. For a quick recovery 🙂

    July 18, 2011 at 4:44 am

Leave a Reply

