A Phoenix Burning

Another One Bites the Dust

I went to tidy up my kitchen counter today, but before I did I noted this scene.

I thought it mirrored the medical situation in my house perfectly!

See in the background? There’s my bottles of meds shoved to the back, knocked over, and forgotten.

In the forefront are the bandages, ointment, and bottle of antibiotics that are all out because of my daughter. You remember this girl?

Yes, well…this girl decided to go out and play basketball last night on the newly sealed driveway…shoeless and sockless (and brainless.)

She came in bloody and limping with a round chunk of skin about an inch and a quarter in diameter torn off the outside edge of the ball of her foot, filled with filth from the freshly tarred driveway. I will spare you a photo of the damage.

We soaked it, cleaned it the best we could, and treated it with antibiotic ointment, but this morning it was angry and reaching an arm of infection that was heading for her inside ankle. The infection had travelled 5 inches in less than 12 hours. Having dealt with cellulitis infections before, I knew we were in trouble.

As it stands, her doctors are quite taken aback by the speed and intensity of the infection and are treating her with aggressive antibiotics. Problem being, she is allergic to the first choice antibiotic and all it’s relatives. If she doesn’t improve within 24 hours we will be looking at hospital admission for IV antibiotics. Never a dull moment!

As all Mothers know, when one of your babies is sick, your own ailments get shoved to the back of the counter, forgotten, unimportant, until that baby is out of danger. Hence, the photo.

Aaaaaaand……cue music.

6 responses

  1. Sigh…you just can’t catch a break! Poor thing…I hope the infection can be contained and erradicated quickly. I imagine next time she will wear shoes… 😉

    P.S. Since you have the same WP theme as Michaela, it is also impossible now to see text typed in the comment box. I simply type away and then highlight the text to see if I need to ‘fix’ anything. I sent a screen shot to Michaela (as requested) so she can notify WP.

    June 8, 2011 at 2:28 pm

  2. That is so scary! I hope she improves and you can avoid the hospital!
    {Hugs}

    June 8, 2011 at 2:40 pm

  3. Ouuuuuch…. Made me cringe just reading this… Hope she recovers real soon…

    June 8, 2011 at 3:31 pm

  4. I hope she has hugely improved since your post!

    June 10, 2011 at 5:49 am

  5. Thank you all!

    Update: She is doing much better! The doctor was pleasantly surprised at her appointment yesterday and said, “I will be honest with you…I was preparing myself to deliver you some bad news today.” Thank God, the antibiotic is working…he upped the dose by another third and she was cleared for low activity including a return to school. Recheck on Monday as long as she continues to improve. We are feeling very relieved. 🙂

    June 10, 2011 at 7:00 am

  6. Wuff! I’m so glad you recognized the emergency and avoided a hospital stay for This Girl. Good goin’ there Mom. I’ve been catching up on your adventures and misadventures today. The party never ends, eh? Keep swimming . . .

    June 20, 2011 at 8:49 am

Leave a Reply

