A Phoenix Burning

Mommy is Going to Go Berserk…

image

…if she doesn’t write down her feelings while her darlings are cleaning this mess of styrofoam peanuts they made while she was distracted making dinner.Β 
Yes….DUMMY ME gave them permission to use them. Why??? Because I’m a DUMMY!!
Did I think they would crush them all to pieces? Of course not!
Why??? Because I’m a DUMMY!!!!

Really…it’s not about the effing peanuts mess…(okay…maybe it is just a little.) But what really irks the bejeezus out of me is that I vacuumed yesterday for the first time in many months.
And paid for it all night with a ticked off sciatic nerve.
Why did I think I could vacuum??? Because I’m a DUMMY!!!
And why do I think vacuuming is important enough to risk my back recovery when I have three kids in the house???
BECAUSE I’M A DUUUUUUMMMMMMMYYYYYYYY!!!!!

From henceforth I will be known as KD, not for KanniDuba, but for Kinda DUMB!!!

The End.

9 responses

  1. Oh my. You poor thing! I wish I could swing by and whisk you away for some quiet time!

    Mommy needs a drink. And some chocolate. And one of those large blow-up thing-ys you can beat the crap out of while screaming at the top of your lungs.

    Would that help? πŸ˜‰

    June 6, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    • LOL

      YES! A drink would be lovely…on top of my ToDo list once I’m off the meds.

      And I have to say that although I hadn’t vacuumed in months, Zan has…

      To give credit where it’s due, Mister and Little Girl picked up all the mess, and Little Girl vacuumed the best she could to get the littlest pieces. And they had GREAT fun making it snow in the living room. Little Girl said, “That’s why we were sitting on the table Mom, so we wouldn’t make a mess on the floor!”

      Why do they have to go and be so damned cute?

      June 6, 2011 at 7:50 pm

      • So glad I could provide a chuckle! And, it sounds like all has ended well.

        As for your question…I hear they take after their mother… πŸ˜‰

        June 6, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    • Oh, and a YES and another YES to the chocolate and punching bag!!! πŸ™‚

      June 6, 2011 at 7:52 pm

      • LOL! Oh, and I forgot to add…if Zan is like my Jim, then yes, they mean well when they ‘help’ (like with the vacuuming) but we all know it never quite gets ‘cleaned’ like when we do it. (“Um, Babe, did you not SEE all the dust along the baseboards?” πŸ˜€ )

        June 6, 2011 at 7:56 pm

  2. Hand them the vacuum and get them to get to work LOL! Little Mr goes slow and you have to subtly point out all the bits he’s missed, but practice makes perfect I say!
    When my kids are not motivated and start to whine then I tell them that cleaning up chores are booooring for me too, and they are part of the family TEAM so let’s all get to it and get it done.
    Of course at the moment I have a genuine “Mama’s on crutches and needs you to help me” issue but it’s a silver lining that they are forced to do more and they feel very proud of themselves after things are done.

    June 7, 2011 at 12:59 am

  3. I am glad the kids amused themselves! Sometimes you learn most of your mistakes. And I think you should give your kids the job with the vacuuming in the house in the future: Instructive for them (they will soon be experts!)- very good for the health of their mother! – and to the benefit of your husband πŸ˜‰

    June 7, 2011 at 5:47 am

  4. My kids have really been amazing through this whole thing. Teen Girl has been keeping up with laundry with her Dad’s help, Little Girl has been washing the kitchen floor when it needs it, and Mister won’t let me carry anything. He even attempted to carry a gallon of milk for me at the store saying, “NO Mama!!! You will hurt your back if you carry that!” They are my constant fetchers and do-ers, with rarely a complaint.
    I’m simply chomping at the bit to get back to being “in charge” of my domain! LOL I wanted to vacuum on Sunday, not because no one else would do it, but because I wanted to prove to myself that I could. Obviously I proved just the opposite. CURSES!!

    Apparently more time is needed. *sigh*

    June 7, 2011 at 6:16 am

  5. Give your body time. God is teaching you true patience. Some days leave it messy though it kills you. and remember this saying “Do not pick up after your children. That is their job.”

    β€’ Proverbs 14:23
    This ethic is not something that you can suddenly attain as an adult. It is something that is learned and mastered as a child-with the help and instruction of the parents. Do not pick up after your children, or do everything for your children- teach them responsibilities, teach them to work-hard and with a joyful attitude. Christians should be known for their hard work-and by doing this, you will be making known a Christian-working generation of the future.

    How do you think your back got that way in the first place? Buck up little camper.

    July 27, 2011 at 11:20 pm

Leave a Reply

