A Phoenix Burning

I Take My Whining Seriously

Whilst in the throes of my recent hating-my-house-moments, I had nothing better to do than sit with my iPad and look for trouble. There’s this handy little Trulia App that shows real estate for sale.

Well looky what I found:

Just a few miles from my house…waiting to be bought and built on. 30 acres. *sigh* Isn’t it beeee-yooo-teee-ful?!

But if you look closely at the photo, you’ll see what isn’t included with the property.

Little Neighbors 1, 2, and 3 that are as close to our children as cousins. Dear Neighbors who we have laughed with us, cried with us, supported us, and been supported by us. The many borrowed eggs, and sugar, and parmesan cheese that have passed between all our neighbors’ homes. Our Dear Sue across the street who has been a second mother to our daughters, and will always be family to us. Mr. Ding-A-Ling who drives by with ice cream every evening in summer. The deck Zan built for me. The former owners of our home who have shared their family histories with us. The sense of spirit and light our home possesses. None of that comes with that beautiful property in the photo. So here we will stay, grounded in the community we’ve helped build.

But look out neighbors…as Sue says, “It all starts with a throw pillow,” and I have some broken blinds in my windows. Better get a construction crew in to take care of them. πŸ˜‰

6 responses

  1. It all starts with one little spark. A purple little dragon told me that once.

    May 25, 2011 at 9:29 am

    • Yep…those little sparks are at their most dangerous when I’m at my most helpless! LOL
      I’m sure Zan is quaking in fear right about now. πŸ˜‰

      That property sure is pretty, but I really am a Town Girl at heart. I would feel very isolated out there even though it’s quite close to town—especially when Zan travels.

      However, our roof is screaming for love, the one bathroom is grating on my very last nerve with a teenager in the house, and my body is not enjoying having the laundry in the icky basement. I see a renovation project in our not-too-distant future. Must get back on my feet first. In the meantime, I can dream. πŸ™‚

      May 25, 2011 at 5:50 pm

  2. Well… You could always move all the neighbours up there too… I mean it’s 30 acres !!… Plenty of room for 1, 2 and 3 mefinks, and maybe a couple more to boot… Dibs on the house by the lake.. πŸ˜‰

    May 27, 2011 at 4:10 pm

  3. Have you ever “shared” a wine glass with your friends/neighbors? There is a mysterious wine glass that has somehow floated from next door into our cupboard. My husband swears he didn’t do it……..I don’t believe him πŸ™‚

    June 3, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    • Ah, yes! Many a wine glass have been shared between Dear Neighbors and us…most of the time they make it back to their rightful owners…..usually full with another sip to share. πŸ™‚

      June 3, 2011 at 2:28 pm

  4. This house is like your body. It isn’t new. It isn’t working perfectly. It isn’t in the best of health. But it is the one you have. The one you love. And as much as you want to leave this one for a new one, you need to keep this one and fix it. It won’t be quick, It won’t be easy. But when it is working right you will love it and cherish it even more sweetly knowing that it’s new brilliance wasn’t always so. Buck up little camper.

    July 27, 2011 at 11:11 pm

Leave a Reply

