A Phoenix Burning

Two Small Discs, One Giant Pain

So, the short and sweet of it…
MRI results are in…
I have two bulging/ protruding discs. One poking my spinal cord, one poking my sciatic nerve.
Seeing my Doctor on Monday to develop a plan of action.
The news could have been much worse, so I am grateful.

The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single (painful) step! I’m in the middle of a loooooong journey! However, yesterday I saw a woman with a beautiful 15 month old baby boy in her arms, with no hair or eyebrows and a kerchief on her bald head. My problems became so trivial in that moment…I sent all my prayers for healing her way yesterday.

Be well…feel blessed.

6 responses

  1. And all this time we were sure you were just being a big baby . . . [I really wish I knew how to make that evil little grin thingy].

    Wafting cedar smoke toward you and the mom in the kerchief. You are both blessed. Twice.

    May 15, 2011 at 2:04 pm

  2. Well I can’t even begin to imagine how painful that must be, and I sure hope the plan of action isn’t too gruelling… but you’re right though, as bad as our own lot may appear to be, there’s always someone else who’s dealing with far worse… Wishing you all the best…

    May 15, 2011 at 5:10 pm

  3. Oh, KD….you poor, poor thing! BUT, I agree, you now know what you are up against and can progress through your course of treatment.

    Life has a way of putting things (quickly) into perspective, huh? I, too, had a wake-up call yesterday…woe is me for my sore foot when we get news that a friend’s newborn is in NICU with menengitis. Foot doesn’t hurt so bad. In fact, pain seems to have gone away. Yes, blessed indeed. Prayers for the little ones.

    I wish you as painless and quick a recovery as possible. Hugs, hugs, hugs. 🙂

    May 16, 2011 at 10:32 am

  4. I wish you all the best for a fast recovery and hope that the plan can also help you escape from the pain.

    May 17, 2011 at 12:53 pm

  5. Perspective keeps us grounded. Though I would say your condition is not trivial either. Sounds like you know have a solid plan with your health care providers going forward. How about some creative therapy with your camera to help your spirit?

    May 18, 2011 at 8:28 am

  6. Do not be discouraged. Buck up little camper. Your best days are always ahead of you. Feel blessed. Because you are. The life you have as a back aching cripple is still one filled with happiness joy and life. I know because I walk beside you in this life and will carry you when your legs fail you.

    July 27, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Leave a Reply

