A Phoenix Burning

Still Here

Yes, I am alive.

Got me some new Saucony running shoes…(not that I am running anywhere.)

Got me a new comfy chair with lumbar support that can be rolled around the house wherever I need to sit down.

Got me a beautiful new stand mixer so I can bake us some nice healthy breads and such without back effort.

New Addition

Got me some very good helpers around the house who have taken over laundry, lifting, and vacuuming duties.

Got me a new habit of going to bed early and taking time out of my day to rest.

All is better….not entirely well, but better.

Treading water most days, even swimming a little others, but most importantly, not allowing myself to sink.

“Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming swimming swimming…what do we do we swim swim. O O O O O Oooooooo!”

15 responses

  1. Zandic

    Keep doing what you do. God is watching. You have a great home, great kids and an amazing husband. Your health will improve as you give yourself that time.

    April 25, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    • Yes, I do. (Not tooting your own horn too much there, are you Dear?) LOL
      Love you…

      April 26, 2011 at 8:06 am

  2. Oh, so good to hear from you! So, SO sorry you are dealing with so much pain. 😦

    Your post has prompted many questions/comments (in order of how I thought of them)…

    (1) I’ve seen the Saucony brand of running shoes but know little about them (ended up with a pair of Sketchers for myself – love ’em – and a pair of Avia for hubby – he loves his). Are they a known contender in the athletic shoe world and I should have been considering them?

    (2) Thank the mighty heavens for medical contraptions! Your chair sounds wonderful (tho, I fully understand if given the choice you’d opt for ‘A’ – no chair required πŸ™‚ ).

    (3) Yeah, a new KitchenAid!!! You will be mixing and whipping and beating and kneading up a storm! As far as I’m concerned, they are the ONLY mixer to own! She’s a beaut! (I think we have the same one but mine is the cinnamon color…)

    (4) Yes, please take time for yourself. I am learning this lesson as well. What IS it about women in general that we beat ourselves up unless we are giving, giving, giving?? I will think of you when I am ‘icing, elevating and resting’. πŸ™‚ Right now, the floors aren’t as clean as I’d like and when I hobble on through my eye catches the dust layer that seems to be on EVERYTHING. Sigh. The heavens are testing my very core…

    (5) LOVE the Dory referece! I was singing this to myself the other day! What else can we do right?

    (6) Last item (I promise). Okay, so I guess I am hermiated disc ignorant – does the treatment for your condition lie soley in your hands, meaning, all you can do is rest and it will heal? No surgery, no PT? I just FEEL for you as I know you’ve been contending with this for some time now and if it can keep coming back, what is one to do?

    Hugs, KD. Sorry for the long entry. The injured must commiserate together! πŸ™‚

    April 26, 2011 at 6:50 am

    • Oh, goodness! I love long entries!! πŸ™‚

      So, let’s see…to answer your questions:

      1) I had never heard of Saucony before either. My Doc told me to go to the local sporting goods store and buy the best pair of walking shoes I could afford. So I went and asked for the best…He didn’t have “walking” shoes, but said that a good pair of running shoes would be even better for my problem. He showed me a $100 pair of Asics which he considered the best, but then proceeded to tell me that Saucony were a big hit with his friends who run marathons and encouraged me to try on a pair of those as well. I went back and forth between the two pairs three different times, trying them on, walking around. I decided I really liked the fit of the Sauconys better, even though the Asics were awesome as well. (I haven’t owned a real pair of sneakers since high school. Am beginning to wonder if that is half of my problem!) The Sauconys were half the price! WhooHoo! I have been wearing them every single day, even when I am around the house, and I am feeling better. Coincidence? Maybe, maybe not. I would definitely give them a try if I were you. And my brother-in-law recognized them on my feet immediately…”You got Sauconys!!!! Best shoes you can buy!!!” He won’t wear anything else. πŸ™‚

      2) My chair is quite wonderful! My husband calls me Donald Trump when I sit in it. πŸ™‚ Black leather, soft, but supportive where I need it. LOVE it!!! The only chair I could tolerate for short periods was my rocking chair, so I got to the point where I was either standing, or laying down. Now I can sit and not have the nerve screaming at me. LOVE it!!

      3) My new Kitchenaid…I can’t stop looking at it…it’s so PRETTY!!! lol I whipped up mashed potatoes with it on Saturday, and swear it was worth every cent for that job alone. πŸ™‚

      4) I have always believed that things happen for a reason. Having my back go out just a few days after the Fibro diagnosis felt like a kick in the teeth at the time. Now, weeks later, I know for a fact that had it not been for my back, I would have poopooed my Doctor’s insistence that I needed more sleep and down time in order to ease some of my symptoms. This has forced me to go upstairs to bed at 7:30 each night where I read to my daughter, then stay there, and has forced me to minimize chores and take a lay down on the couch for an hour or two each day. Mister and I have watched a lot of movies! I am already seeing the connection and noticing how much better the rest of me is feeling. And no migraines in two months…a blessing.

      The biggest challenge now is continuing to behave myself even though I am doing so much better. The vacuuming and laundry are becoming a temptation now that I’m not in constant pain. This is the hardest stage of healing, when you feel so much better, but are still “fragile.” You behave yourself too…we’ll ignore the dust together. πŸ™‚

      5) Dory…my favorite.

      6) I had PT for 4 weeks…The insurance company was so pleased with my progress as reported by my doctors, that they decided I don’t need anymore sessions. (Curse them.) My doctor and PT also feel confident enough in my progress that they think I can continue on my own and will heal given time. I have my own set of electrodes that I use nightly, and have been faithful to my prescribed exercises, so now it is just a matter of time. I will just need to take better care of myself after I am healed. I’m not real good at doing that. πŸ™‚ Have an appointment with the Rheumatologist next month and will be discussing the role that the Fibro could be playing in this whole thing.

      Whew!!! See…my entry was longer than yours! πŸ™‚

      April 26, 2011 at 8:36 am

      • Yep – your entry beat mine in length! πŸ™‚

        Thanks so much for explaining your condition. I had completely forgotten about your Fibromyalgia. Bummer. 😦

        Also, thank you for the Saucony information.

        If you don’t know, I am a die-hard bargain shopper and right now, our local Marshall’s and TJMaxx stores have a TON of Saucony styles on their shelves. And their prices are AMAZING! Some are even on Clearance! (That is actually how I got my Sketchers XF Accelerators for only $29 when they retail for $105). I will have to give the Saucony brand another look since both of us will need a second pair (one pair for inside equipment, one pair for outside walking/running). I find that keeps makes the shoes last longer.

        April 26, 2011 at 9:48 am

        • Will definitely check it out! Already want a second pair. πŸ™‚

          April 26, 2011 at 3:44 pm

  3. Jennifer A (Bread and Putter)

    Hang in there, KD! A good friend of mine also has fibro and she struggles with the same things – being “good” and wanting to get things done. It’s a hard balance. I keep telling her to get a hot tub. Maybe your amazing husband could see fit to set you up with one. πŸ˜‰

    April 26, 2011 at 9:05 am

    • Oooooooo….I like the way you think!

      April 26, 2011 at 3:44 pm

  4. Steady as she goes and head Dory’s advice. I know how difficult this must be with a the crew you have at home. Hugs and pixie dust, KD!

    April 26, 2011 at 12:17 pm

  5. Sounds like you’ve got yourself some great little buoyancy aids there to help keep yourself afloat… “I shall call him Squishy and he shall be mine and he shall be my Squishy. Come on, Squishy Come on, little Squishy”… πŸ™‚

    April 26, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    • Seriously…Ellen was pure genius in this role!

      Squishy = cutest thing EVER! πŸ™‚

      April 26, 2011 at 3:47 pm

  6. I send you some of all the sunshine we had here for several days now – to help you achieve energy for your body & soul – and your helpers πŸ™‚

    April 26, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    • Oh, Truels, thank you!!
      Sunshine would be most welcome! Half my problem is the cold rainy weather. My body does not like low barometric pressure. My helpers could definitely use some outside playtime as well! πŸ™‚

      April 27, 2011 at 6:42 am

  7. When Moms take good care of themselves they are really taking care of the whole family. Dust will wait there quietly until someone comes along who can put it somewhere else. Laundry is something kids can learn to do early on. But only Moms can give Mom Listening and ask Mom Questions and read storybooks in Mom Voices. (Dads are very good at Dad versions of these things, too–in my experience it’s a job best shared by as many Mom and Dad and Grandma and Grandpa and Associate Adults as can be rustled up to heed the call!) I’m so glad you have a chair that works for you – it must be such a relief. Did someone say buy a second pair of the shoes you like? That’s a good idea in case the first pair gets wet or begins to mush down or unaccountably disappears somewhere under the couch. Wishing you good sunny days and much laughter.

    April 27, 2011 at 12:42 pm

Leave a Reply

