A Phoenix Burning

Yesterday…

…I was feeling sorry for myself.

I’ve had the one step forward, one and a quarter steps backward experience with my herniated disc tapping my sciatic nerve thing going on for a couple of weeks now.  Just when I was optimistic about my improvements on Wednesday, I wound up sliding back to square negative one on Friday.

However, just when I was allowing myself to feel pathetic, a bright spot erupted in my day.

Dear Neighbor brought me a bouquet of beautiful spring flowers.  🙂

Later, she and her kids proceeded to “sneak” into my house to tidy it up while my family was attending my niece’s birthday party.  I came home to no dishes, no dust, no toys or shoes to trip on, folded towels, and clean toilets…and made beds to boot!  It was a blessing for all of us.  Zan and the girls have been keeping up with the big stuff like laundry and grocery shopping and dishes, but with work and school, some things have had to go on the “later” list.  Interesting how, on the day I mention on Twitter how anxiety ridden I was over my messy house, Neighbor (who doesn’t read my Twitter or my blog) swooped in to save the day.  🙂

There’s always a silver lining, and in this case, it’s the reminder that I am surrounded by angels.

9 responses

  1. Good neighbors are life-giving. All honor to them. May we all do our best to be them. What a gift, what a gift. And now a word to the herniated disc: SIMMER DOWN IN THERE! DON’T MAKE ME COME UPSTAIRS!

    April 3, 2011 at 8:58 am

  2. Beautiful photo!
    What a wonderful neighbor you have! That was really sweet of her to surprise you with a clean house like that.
    Hope you feel better soon!

    April 3, 2011 at 9:10 am

  3. With neighbours like that you won’t ever want to move 🙂
    The flowers are stunning too, but actions like these are the ‘flowers” of life that truly light up your day.
    I wish you a speedy recovery, slow mending is never ever fun.

    April 3, 2011 at 11:53 am

  4. Well you most certainly can’t beat neighbours like that… but of course you’ll not be able to find anything now… lol… Love the shot too, as I have some of those… Well, they’re not “mine” obviously… 😉

    April 3, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    • I sure hope your back starts behaving itself too real soon…

      April 3, 2011 at 12:14 pm

  5. I hear you on the back thing. I went through that too.. took a year of intensive chiropractic but I can now be basically normal I can even ride again. I know everyone has their opinions about chiropractic but I am a firm believer. It is in no way a quick fix, I still go twice a week every 3 weeks.. but I have benefited in other ways as a whole from it too.

    I hope your back goes back to normal soon
    And it sounds like you have wonderful neighbors
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    April 4, 2011 at 12:51 pm

  6. Oh, what a wonderful little piece of heaven you experienced! What amazing neighbors you have. 🙂

    Lovely photo and I bet you just cannot help but smile when you see the flowers knowing the kind souls that lie behind them.

    I do hope your back feels better. And soon. Doesn’t that disc know summer is coming??

    April 4, 2011 at 3:22 pm

  7. I am sorry to read, that you are not feeling well in your back – I hope it is getting better soon. But such neighbours are pure gold!
    I’m glad you had the energy to take the picture above – it is wonderful.
    I have been abroad for 10 weeks until last Saturday – and our neighbours have been taking really good care of our house – it was so nice coming home to that….
    (PS: I love your new (for me) header!)

    April 8, 2011 at 3:39 am

  8. Good friends are hard to find. Sure hope your back gets better soon. The weather is finally going to behave this weekend. Take care, KD!

    April 8, 2011 at 7:21 am

Leave a Reply

