A Phoenix Burning

New Directions

What do you do when your husband has been diagnosed with dangerously high blood pressure and a sleep disorder, you have been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, your lower lumbar disc starts bumping your sciatic nerve again, and two of your children are going through testing to get to the bottom of chronic gastrointestinal issues, all in the span of a four week period?

Well, you allow yourself to be pathetic and feel sorry for yourself for five minutes…

And then you count your many blessings, say a prayer of thanks that it’s nothing worse, blow your nose, and get on with the task of adapting to the new normal.

My family has been going through a Bad Patch.

However, there are things we are grateful for:

1.  Zan’s high blood pressure was diagnosed before anything terrible could happen, and it is already back down with medication and a diet overhaul. And hopefully he’ll be able to sleep well again in the near future which would be a totally new and welcome experience for him.

2.  All my lab tests, including blood tests, heart tests, and artery tests have come back normal…a great relief following some scary experiences and a dramatic increase in migraine headaches.

3. The diagnoses of Fibromyalgia, albeit unwelcome, explains a lot of problems I’ve had throughout the last year.  Thankfully I do not have some of the crippling symptoms of depression and anxiety that some experience, and my case is considered mild to moderate.  My body simply feel 90 years old…it could be worse!  🙂  At least now I can be proactive and take steps to manage it.

4.  If we have to go Gluten free, Wheat free, Soy free, or Dairy free for my kiddos, at least there are innumerable resources and foods available to help us do that.  We will hopefully know more when their lab work comes back next week.

5. My damnable slipping disc is at least giving me a warning signal by bumping my nerve, rather than dropping me to my knees immediately.  I can take steps to heal it while still able to move around.

6.  My wonderful parents have been available to watch kids and give rides to appointments when necessary while we go through all this stuff.

7. We have each other, and our world has not been shaken apart.  All this can be managed.

I thought I had better disclose this saga, as I’m sure there will be posts related to our new directions in the future, as we seek to change our lifestyle to adapt to our new circumstances.  Maybe even some new recipes as I seek healthier alternatives for me and my family?  I am actually quite excited about this book coming in the mail.  It will look pretty next to my copy of their original “Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day.”  You’ll be hearing more about that one, I am sure.  🙂

So enough about poopy things.

I leave you with evidence gathered when I was in Newport that spring really is approaching.  When passing through the dark of winter, one must always keep sight on the light of spring.

 

7 responses

  1. Well you sure haven’t had the best run of luck have you… I’m real glad though that you’ve managed to find so many positives from all of this though… and hopefully as you say, you can now take steps to minimise or eliminate things in the future… I wish you the best..

    March 25, 2011 at 1:46 pm

  2. Wow, KD, not sure what to say. That is A LOT to handle in a very short period of time. So sorry you and your family have to face these trials. Your positive attitude will certainly get you through! You are a strong woman with a strong family! That is evident!

    I hope the docs can find out what is ailing the kids and also, find some relief for your pain and Zan’s HBP. As you said, all these things are manageable and you had the foresight to get checked out sooner rather than later. You WILL come out the other side stronger and healthier for it! Hugs!

    March 25, 2011 at 3:00 pm

  3. Thanks Brian and Tracy. 🙂
    I really would not have shared all this, but it will all mean big changes…I just really didn’t want to have to edit or talk around the situation here on my blog…cryptic posts can be so frustrating to the reader, so I didn’t want to do that to all of you.

    We’ll get through it!! 🙂

    March 25, 2011 at 3:43 pm

  4. I’m glad you’re letting people know. All those health issues coming at once–Wuff. The stress of having it all pile on like that just piles it higher and deeper, doesn’t it! You need a lot of support, and look at that! You have it.

    March 25, 2011 at 3:46 pm

  5. That is an awful lot to take on at once- best wishes for all your family’s future needs, and best possible health.
    My dh has HBP and a sleep disorder, and I wouldn’t be surprised to see a connection there. Hubs has a CPAP machine for his sleep apnea (a true God-send for men’s heart health and wives’ sleep health!)If this is in Zan’s future you’ll be very happy for it.
    Hope you know your cyber-buddies are here for you!

    March 25, 2011 at 7:33 pm

  6. A good attitude will help you go far, KD. Seeking solutions instead of letting the weight of it all pull you down. Here’s to you, kid, and to the rest of your family.

    March 28, 2011 at 9:13 am

  7. Val Erde

    That’s too much to put up with, but then you will get used to at least some of it, in time. And hopefully things will improve. I’m not stranger to health problems (including high blood pressure) so I sympathise.

    Love the photo.

    March 30, 2011 at 4:33 pm

Leave a Reply

