A Phoenix Rising

Up Close

I spent three days with these flowers getting up close and personal with them…with flash, without flash, flash on the camera, flash off the camera, with extension tubes, without extension tubes, using each different lens and various angles, different times of day so the ambient light in my dining room was different.

I must say, I enjoyed every second I spent with these lovely flowers…they were a welcome escape from all things distressing.  (And a big thank you goes out  to Scott for giving me a well timed opportunity to practice my off camera flash skills.)  :)

A small selection of favorites…

And a black and white version for good measure:

24 responses

  1. Ooh, aah! Very pretty! I bet you’ve got plenty more you are holding back!

    March 20, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    • Yeah, I may have a *few*. ;)

      March 21, 2011 at 5:45 am

  2. It’s such a pretty shade of pink that I am drawn to the color shots, but somehow the black and white version is the one that reaches out and grabs me! Nice work. Fie on all things distressing.

    March 20, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    • There’s just something about flowers in black and white…not sure why I’m drawn to them as well. I want to go back to that one though…not sure the contrast is quite right.

      March 21, 2011 at 5:46 am

  3. LOVE that stigma shot… Wow.. It almost looks like a pollinated hand clutching a lump of butter… Stunning shots, and well worth the time and effort…

    March 20, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    • Thanks Brian!
      It was a pleasure to get lost in these flowers…and thanks for inspiring me to go buy them for myself! ;)

      March 21, 2011 at 5:49 am

  4. I’d say you are becoming quite the strobist, KD.

    March 20, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    • Oh, wow Scott…thank you! :)

      Hey…was I supposed to include aperture and all that jazz?

      March 21, 2011 at 5:50 am

      • Well, I did want to know how you took the photo. If you don’t mind, I would like to see it.

        March 21, 2011 at 3:16 pm

        • Will do, when I get a chance….

          March 25, 2011 at 11:55 am

  5. Wonderful, all of them ! The tulips in the second shot are so poetic. It is great to see the different versions of the bouquet. Thank you.

    March 21, 2011 at 2:41 am

  6. Jennifer A (Bread and Putter)

    Oh, so much pretty!! Love them and I am very impressed with your use of flash. You are an artiste!

    March 21, 2011 at 9:04 am

    • Thanks Jen! Will have to live up to all these lovely titles! :)

      March 25, 2011 at 11:56 am

  7. What a lovely bouquet of flowers, the soft pink looks very delicate and fresh. Just what we need to see at this time of year. I like the B/W too.

    March 23, 2011 at 5:07 am

  8. It is amazing that you can manipulate the direction of light!
    What I mean is that in image 1 the light is reflected on the pink tulips. And in the BW version the light almost seems to come from the flowers.
    All beautiful

    March 24, 2011 at 2:29 am

    • Thank you Carsten! I am a newbie with the use of flash, and still don’t feel confident. However, I am definitely beginning to see what a lovely difference it can make if utilized correctly. :)

      March 25, 2011 at 11:57 am

  9. Sooooo dramatic! The lighting and compositions are very ‘portrait-like’, giving the flowers such personality. Lovely!

    March 24, 2011 at 12:15 pm

  10. Great colors! Beautiful work.

    Mary W.

    March 25, 2011 at 8:41 pm

  11. Pingback: Assignment 12 Recap | Views Infinitum

  12. Your love for these blooms comes through in the images you’ve chosen. You’ve portrayed these tulips in photos the way Renoir portrayed women in paintings.

    March 30, 2011 at 6:30 am

  13. Great pictures

    March 30, 2011 at 4:08 pm

  14. Val Erde

    Beautiful. :)

    March 30, 2011 at 4:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers