A Phoenix Burning

Nature’s Best

I have been wanting to share this little find with all of you for quite awhile now, so thanks to Scott for pushing me in that direction (even though I’m a day late and a dollar short as always!)

This, my dear friends, is the best kept secret on the planet.

I have come to swear by this little mix of teas (Tulsi, also known as Holy Basil, and Lemon Myrtle) and really think you all should order some as soon as you leave here.  Get it wherever you can find it.

I discovered my little tea shop through an out-of-town friend.  She has been ordering tea from Sensibiliteas for a long time, and wanted to visit the actual shop when she came to visit a couple of years ago.  I had no idea this place even existed in my area, but upon entering, became a total convert.  An entire wall (someday I will photograph it for you) is lined with paint cans filled with teas…I had never seen anything like it.  And the teas are fabulous.  I will never enjoy a bagged tea again.

Last year I was desperately seeking some natural aid to my “little” joint swelling/back aching problem.  My Tea Lady suggested Holy Basil, otherwise known as Tulsi.  She said it *might* help, but even if it didn’t help my joints, it would help a lot of other things.  “You’ll never get a cold again, and even if you do, it won’t be a bad one.”  So I drank it here and there, never quite taking the stuff seriously.

However, I started getting sick with some throat/respiratory virus the Saturday before Thanksgiving this past year.  Desperate to kick it to avoid being sick for Thanksgiving a second year in a row, I started drinking my store of Holy Basil, three cups a day as prescribed.  I swear it kept me going, and although I lost my voice, didn’t need the help of a doctor this time.  Off I went to the tea shop the day after Thanksgiving with absolutely no voice.  She suggested mixing Lemon Myrtle (for throats) with the Holy Basil.  I did, and I got better within two days.

I continued drinking a cup a day all through the holidays.  Every time I felt something coming on, I upped it to a pot (or three cups) back to back a day.  I thought one cold was going to get me…I woke with a fever and feeling miserable.  By the end of the day, I was on my feet with nothing left but a drippy nose.  Seriously.  It left as quickly as it came.

Add to this the fact that, about a month ago I observed to my husband, “You know, my joints haven’t bothered me as much lately…and my back is so much better finally.  It only took a year.”  And he said, “You’ve been drinking that tea.”  Lightbulb moment.  I had been drinking it to avoid getting sick all winter, but I think it has actually helped everything else too without me even realizing it.  I am now a believer.

You will find information on the benefits of Tulsi here and here.

You will find information on the benefits of Lemon Myrtle here.

Just Google each and you will find more information.

If you can’t find it, send me an e-mail and I will put you in touch with Donna-Lynn, my trusted Tea Lady.  Here’s to health! *raises tea cup*

23 responses

  1. That photo is beautiful!
    I’ve become more of a coffee drinker in recent years, but I still enjoy a good cup of tea now and then.
    There’s still time to submit it for the challenge, deadline is tonight! 🙂

    January 26, 2011 at 9:59 am

    • I am a coffee ADDICT!
      But, I have cut back to coffee in the morning only, anything hot after Noon is tea, anything after dinner is decaf.

      January 26, 2011 at 1:17 pm

  2. Thank you for sharing your secret to improved health. I will try to find some.

    January 26, 2011 at 10:27 am

    • Good luck! I think the Lemon Myrtle is tricky to find.

      January 27, 2011 at 7:19 am

  3. That is an exceptionally creative response to Scott’s assignment. I don’t really believe in this stuff you know . . . but I figure what the heck, I like tea and I’ve got nothing to lose. Perhaps a year from now I will owe you big time!

    January 26, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    • *teehee*
      Creative?? Well, that’s a kind word for it! LOL
      I knew I was probably stretching it, since it’s technically not “food.”
      I figure Scott won’t be shy though…he’ll call “poppycock” on me if he needs to. 🙂

      You know Gerry, I usually don’t believe in this sort of thing either…I am a true skeptic. However, on this stuff, I am sold. It’s a different tasting tea (the tulsi in particular) but with honey it’s quite nice. And it tastes better than it smells.

      If you can’t find it, let me know…I’ll send you a sample. 🙂

      January 26, 2011 at 1:24 pm

  4. Your post is really interesting and I love the picture you chose for Scott´s challenge. I am a tea drinker and will definitely check those Lemon Myrtle and Tulsi teas (tisanes in French ;). Thanks a lot !

    January 26, 2011 at 1:56 pm

  5. Never been able to find a tea I really like – I like the powdered stuff from the can on ice in the summer though! Surely considered a travesty by “tea people!” This shot, however, is very beautiful and a great way to interpret Scott’s assignment.

    January 26, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    • You know, on a hot day, that stuff is yummy! 🙂
      Glad you liked the photo though. 🙂

      January 27, 2011 at 8:26 am

  6. Very interesting, KD! I like tea but it can’t be a black tea (too bitter) as I typically drink it straight (no sugar or cream).

    We only drink loose teas and have THE most wonderful contraption for brewing the perfect cup – the Mrs. Tea! They haven’t been made in quite a few years but you can still find them on Ebay.

    The only teas to date that I’ve really liked are from Tealuxe, specifically their Organic Peppermit (THE best mint tea on the planet) and their Chamomile Mint. I also like green tea.

    So, with that all said, is Lemon Myrtle and Tulsi a leaf tea? 🙂

    January 26, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    • I believe both are considered herbals. They are green leafy teas. The Lemon Myrtle on it’s own is VERY lemony since it supposedly contains the highest concentration of citral found in nature…very nice mixed with the Tulsi.
      Donna Lynn makes the mix in the photo because so many of us were combining the two on our own.

      She is great about getting to know her customers and making recommendations based on your taste preferences. I know she does a lot of mail order, although the website isn’t the easiest to navigate. I think giving her a call or dropping an e-mail is the easiest way to get started. I put a link in my blogroll.

      January 27, 2011 at 8:38 am

      • Thanks for the info! Sounds like it is right up my alley.

        I did take a look at the tea site and couldn’t find the blend shown in the pic above. (I did find Lemon Myrtle and Tulsi seperately under Herbs and Spices). Perhaps this is a special blend that she only offers to certain customers?

        January 27, 2011 at 2:01 pm

        • I think if you contact her and ask for it by name you can get it. She likely hasn’t updated the website…it’s a really small little shop. 🙂

          January 27, 2011 at 4:15 pm

  7. Herbs and teas are well known for their healing powers. I like your photo and use of the B&W? or very monotone setting. Really pulls the eye to the dark liquid.

    January 27, 2011 at 12:52 pm

  8. Great Photo!
    I’m liking the strong and simple forms and the tight, well composed composition, Excellent!
    I drink Rooibos tea (pronounced “roy boss”), it’s from South Africa and translates literally from Africaans as ” red bush”
    I like that it’s caffeine and tannin free, it comes from the Rooibos shrub/small tree and has a MASSIVE amount of vitamin C in it, also a whole host of medicinal benefits.
    If your tea shop has Rooibos then I beg of you to try it… it’s also a tea that doesn’t get bitter if you leave it to stew and get nice and strong (the way I like it) but the taste might take a few goes to get used to. (it’s worth it!)Great post about your tea shop and lovely photo too 🙂

    January 27, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    • Thank you Kiwidutch!
      I LOVE Rooibos! Almond Rooibos is my favorite, but I also have Vanilla Cinnamon, Vanilla, and White Chocolate Truffle Rooibos. YUM!!!! 🙂

      January 27, 2011 at 3:43 pm

      • I prefer to drink my Rooibos “puur” LOL (pure). Actually “puur” in this sense in Dutch also means without milk, sugar, or additive of any sort(cinnamon etc) and is applied to both tea and coffee drinking.
        Yea! another Rooibos aficionado! I LIKE you!!!

        January 28, 2011 at 2:08 am

  9. Oops, typing in English, translating from a Dutch dialect, that should of course, said “afrikaans”.

    January 27, 2011 at 2:48 pm

  10. Pingback: Assignment 11: Recap | Views Infinitum

  11. Very nteresting, I will give it a try if I can find it here. Thanks for sharing your find.

    February 2, 2011 at 7:37 am

  12. Your photo is beautiful. 🙂

    I am a big fan of tea. All teas. I noticed a discussion about Rooibus. It’s one of my favorites.

    I will have to look into Tulsi. It sounds interesting.

    February 2, 2011 at 3:12 pm

  13. Nye

    I thought it looks familiar, and it’s actually the Thai kraphao that I use for my cooking. I never knew that it’s made into tea also.

    I like the clean look of your image.

    February 2, 2011 at 10:53 pm

Leave a Reply

