A Phoenix Burning

Did You Ever Wonder…

…what the INSIDE of your Speedlight looks like?

Well, wonder no more.  (Folks, don’t try this at home.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photo tip of the day:  Do not leave your batteries in your Speedlight when it is not in use, otherwise the batteries might explode leaving you with no alternative but to do drastic surgery.

This (my brother-in-law’s) Speedlight is very lucky it was in good hands…it survived the surgery and came out working.

10 responses

  1. Whew…I thought this was your new one!! Who did this? I might have a patient for them.

    January 6, 2011 at 10:41 am

    • My two brothers-in-law took it apart, cleaned up all the contacts, and put it back together working. 🙂

      January 6, 2011 at 4:27 pm

  2. Oh, my! I’ve never had a battery explode in my speedlight! Were they rechargeables??

    January 6, 2011 at 10:53 am

    • Regular batteries…

      January 6, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    • I had some do this in my SB-600 a couple of years ago. I cleaned up the batter chamber and contacts as best I could. It went right on working. Today, while it works, the rear display screen blinks all the time. From what I’ve read it’s an expensive repair bill from Nikon.

      This is not quite a disposable item as I have had if or 6 years now. I think an SB-700 is soon in my future. 😉

      January 7, 2011 at 2:26 pm

  3. Oh no! So glad it survived!
    That speedlite looks familiar… SB600?

    How long was it unused? I keep the batteries in mine all the time… maybe I’ll be sure to take them out if I know that I won’t be using it for a while. Better safe than sorry (couldn’t afford to replace it right now).

    January 6, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    • In don’t know how long it sat unused, but it was a lesson I will remember with mine! 🙂
      And yes, it’s an SB-600.

      January 6, 2011 at 4:28 pm

  4. OK, now, this is scary on so many levels. There are batteries all over the place at my house. I think I need to pull them from all the things I don’t use much.

    You know what’s great, though? Someone knows how to fix things! I hate, hate, hate all the stuff in the world that has to be replaced because it can’t be fixed. It’s just wonderful to see something repaired.

    January 6, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    • Yes, everything seems “disposable” these days, doesn’t it?

      January 6, 2011 at 4:34 pm

  5. OH CRAP… **Hurriedly removes batteries from flash**… I’m even more amazed though that he managed to get the speedlight apart, knowing how they make these things these days..

    January 9, 2011 at 6:17 pm

Leave a Reply

