A Phoenix Burning

Too Busy Livin’

Sorry to those of you who have been anxiously awaiting my next post (all one of you…I’m winking at you Sue!)  😉

Things have been all kinds of [mostly] good busy around here…what with helping Dear Neighbor through a medical ordeal one week (happy to say she came through it and is quite back to herself,) preparing for company and Thanksgiving festivities the next, spending time with family, and now the preparations for the next Big Celebration, the blog has taken a necessary back seat.  Such a backseat, that I missed Scott’s Autumn Challenge.  That doesn’t mean I didn’t have a couple of shots set aside to share.

Now that everything is so brown (except for the grass…the grass is a startling green still) looking back at these photos is already a welcome escape into color.

This photo was taken on our deck.  The last tree to drop, just a couple of weeks ago.

And the next:  One autumn evening, I stepped out onto my porch to admire the yellow tree in my front yard with my camera.  Being unable to capture any satisfying photos, I headed back up the steps into my house, but the cornstalks tied to the post caught my eye.  If I looked at them at the right angle, the sunset was behind them glowing through the yellow tree.  These are the result…the first reminds me of an old married couple, leaning toward each other holding hands.

And another shot of that old truck…

And my babies…it does something indescribable to my heart when I see my oldest carrying my youngest…

And no Autumn is complete without a hand turkey…in this case, Mister’s first.

By the way, that hand turkey was drawn on the chalkboards we painted on the sides of two of my kitchen cabinets back in October.  They were intended to be used for grocery lists and ToDo lists…apparently the kids had other (perhaps better?) intentions for them.  🙂

16 responses

  1. I know what you mean about the blog starting to take a back seat! I’ve yet to even dream up an idea for what my first December post will be about. I’m glad I decided to subscribe to your blog, so I didn’t miss these lovely fall photos. I’m glad you decided to share despite missing Scott’s deadline. My favorites are the cornstalk shots; they have a unique perspective and gorgeous background color.

    December 4, 2010 at 8:31 am

    • Thanks! Finally figuring out that subscribe thing myself…quite handy!

      December 6, 2010 at 10:52 am

  2. Sue Knapp

    Oh I am your number one fan!! I really do check your blog EVERY day!! Your words and your beautiful photographs always make me smile and sometimes (ok, often) make me cry……You have such a gift and I enjoy each and every post…..My heart always understands what you are saying and feeling…..Thank you for always touching that part of me……

    December 4, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    • Sue, you are prejudiced! LOL
      Thank you Dear Friend…your house looks beautiful, by the way. XO

      December 6, 2010 at 10:53 am

  3. Good you showed your autumn photos here too. I miss autumn whnw I see your lovely warm colored photos here in our new Danish white and cold climate. Some days ago it was 16 degrees celcius i Greenland and minus 10-15 here 😦 – Anyway – my favorites are those two sunset shots – they are amazing!

    December 5, 2010 at 4:25 am

  4. Looking out my window at the new winter landscape which was created over the weekend, these photos jump out at me with their vibrant color, beautiful golds and lovely bokeh.

    I guess the snow hasn’t reached you yet.

    December 6, 2010 at 9:41 am

    • No snow here yet, but boy is it COLD all of a sudden!

      December 6, 2010 at 10:54 am

      • I got enough snow for ya. 36 inches and still coming. Something like 96 plus hours of snow so far this week.

        Now, I hope you will find time enough to take 4 photos for a special assignment I announced today. 🙂

        December 8, 2010 at 4:46 pm

        • Yikes!
          We’ve had barely a flurry or two. Hoping for a white Christmas but we shall see. It’s certainly cold enough…it’s 8 degrees right now.

          December 9, 2010 at 6:29 am

  5. I truly enjoy dropping by to see what you’ve been up to. Real life, real warmth, real priorities. And a hand turkey. That did something indescribable to my heart! Must call Rob the Firefighter.

    December 6, 2010 at 10:23 am

    • Aw, thank you Gerry! 🙂

      December 6, 2010 at 10:55 am

  6. Jennifer A (Bread and Putter)

    Oh, so beautiful!! I love the colors in the cornstalk photos.

    Great idea with the chalkboard paint.

    December 6, 2010 at 10:24 am

  7. Absolutely stunning photos!

    Yeah, life’s been busy for me as well…I do hope to get back to posting and reading once the kitchen reno and the holidays are done!

    December 6, 2010 at 4:17 pm

  8. Those images were worth waiting for KD.
    I do not know how to get time enough for all I want do these days.
    I’m so glad my path led me to your blog 🙂

    December 8, 2010 at 4:32 pm

Leave a Reply

