A Phoenix Burning

Giving Thanks

This season I’m focusing on what really matters. I always think I am doing just that, but I’m not. The days leading up to Wednesday when Zan’s Sister’s Family arrives for an extended stay, and preparations for the Big Feast on Thursday are usually in full swing are typically hectic to say the least. Shopping and cleaning, and cooking and cleaning, and cleaning and cleaning, are the things that take up my time.

But really, why am I cleaning like a madwoman? My home is generally clean…enough. I keep up with the dust bunnies, I vacuum and dust my living room daily, I change my beds weekly, and keep my kitchen and bathrooms functional and sanitary. So really, why do I feel the compulsive need to wash curtains, wash floors that will be tracked through by a dozens of beloved feet, wash windows and get rid of every stitch of clutter before anyone comes? They don’t care. They come to spend time with us, not to inspect my corners.

So this season, instead of washing windows, I will spend the time visiting my Grandmother in the Nursing Home. Instead of washing floors, I will go shopping, have dinner and watch a movie with my Daughter. Instead of scrubbing woodwork and cabinets, I will go visit my Aunt and finally give her that Rosary bracelet that has been sitting on a shelf waiting for her. I will play games and read books with my Son when he asks instead of saying, “Mommy just has three more things to do, then I will play.” I will have a pre-Thanksgiving dinner with my Parents and Sister’s Family on Monday night instead of creating last minute shopping lists and panicking about what has to be done on Tuesday. I will play a game of Scrabble with my husband instead of folding laundry. I will bake with my younger daughter, instead of insisting I do it myself to save time. I will at least have coffee and a quick visit with my dear friend Anywho even if I am cooking stuffing while we chat. And after the Big Feast, I will lunch and shop with my Sister-in-Law on Black Friday and get caught up in the exhilaration of the season (avoiding the chaos of the malls) instead of avoiding it to watch over the kids like I usually do. There are others, and I will get to them soon.

If I leave this world tomorrow, I don’t want any regrets. Who do I want to see, touch, talk to??? They are who I am thankful for. That is the focus of this holiday season. The dust bunnies can wait.

9 responses

  1. Beautifully written, KD. Nice thoughts. I hope it works out for you.

    November 20, 2010 at 9:00 am

  2. Don’t think anyone could disagree with that… Plus, if you spend days cleaning before everyone arrives, they’ll only mess stuff up, and you’ll have to clean again when they go… lol..

    November 20, 2010 at 11:33 am

  3. zandic

    I assume this means i am cleaning this season instead?

    November 20, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    • Nope. I’ll get a few things done today, shop tomorrow, and the rest can go hang.

      November 21, 2010 at 7:36 am

  4. You vacuum and dust daily? Want to come stay at my house for a few weeks??? 🙂

    Seriously, these are great plans. A wise woman once told me never to wash my floors before a party.

    November 22, 2010 at 11:00 am

    • Only my living room…we have glass tops and they look filthy by the end of the day..I give them a quick wipedown every morning, and run the vacuum. Trust me, it sounds much more impressive than it is! LOL

      November 22, 2010 at 9:01 pm

  5. Have a Happy Thanksgiving with those you love. Like how you got shopping in there as something to enjoy. 🙂

    November 22, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    • Thank you Scott! And may you have a wonderful Thanksgiving as well! Will your lovely daughters be making it home this year?

      November 22, 2010 at 9:02 pm

Leave a Reply

