A Phoenix Burning

Seeing Red

So, on Sunday we went out to walk in the woods  and enjoy “The Big Show” as Gerry calls it.  🙂

Do you remember way back when in once upon a time time, that I told you about Zan’s uncle’s property not too far from here?  I shared with you this photo of his driveway in all it’s glory.

Well, we revisited this location Sunday…Little Girl was on a hunt for white birch bark for her longhouse project, pictured below in it’s half-built phase.  We didn’t have to scout far for the bark…as luck would have it, there was a felled birch tree on the side of that glorious driveway.

I, of course, was on the hunt for photo opportunities, of which there were many.  His property is not only beautiful, but loaded with old rusty treasures.  I share with you a few of my favorites from that day.

And here are a few from the ride over the hills to that fabulous place.  You can see that many of our trees have passed their colorful phase and dropped their leaves.

We shall see what the next few weeks brings.

11 responses

  1. Love all of these shots… particularly because any one of them could so easily have been taken in the British countryside… The first one though is superb… and really makes you want to run up that driveway kicking up all the leaves…

    October 19, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    • I’ve often been fascinated to see how alike the scenery is from overseas, especially since it’s is SO different as you drive through the States. Driving home from Florida was quite a reminder to appreciate the mountains we live amongst here, because it is so flat down south. I didn’t realize how much I missed them until we came home.

      October 20, 2010 at 6:04 am

  2. Jennifer A (Bread and Putter)

    Fabulous. The rusty truck shots remind me of our old pal brc. (brc, where are you???)

    The rest remind me of our drive through upstate NY a couple weeks ago, to and from Cooperstown. Just gorgeous.

    October 19, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    • Thanks Jen!

      We are pretty lucky up here. 🙂

      October 20, 2010 at 6:05 am

  3. You got some nice hay bales! I am fond of nice fat hay bales. Altogether a nice selection of fall images. I was surprised to see how the mountains looked set down on prairie, the way they do out west. I always think of eastern mountains as growing out of foothills and rolling landscapes. I like surprises almost as much as fat hay bales.

    I’m very interested to see the completed longhouse.

    October 19, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    • You aren’t wrong Gerry. This perspective is quite unique for this area, which is probably why I am so drawn to it. It is one of the few flat stretches of land in “these here parts.” It is like a patchwork quilt in the summer when the different fields are growing various delights. The passing road is fairly high, so you look down across the flats toward the eastern edge of the Adirondack Mountains. Absolutely breathtaking…now all they need to do next is invent a 3D camera, so I can share this scene as I see it—-much more beautiful than any present day photo could capture.

      And speaking of surprises, this reminds me of a time back some years ago when one of my dearest friends was preparing to marry a lovely farm girl from Indiana. He invited her parents here to meet his family, and spend time getting to know him in his own element. They were like kids in a candy store! We laugh to this day, remembering when they stepped foot out of the car after the ride from airport. The first words out of their mouths were, “Y’ALL HAVE COWS??!!! And MOUNTAINS!! And FLOWERS!!!!!” And as the week wore on, they said, “And y’all are NICE too!!!” The only New York they knew was the one portrayed on TV…the one paved over, with skyscrapers and dangerous people lurking around every corner, not to mention the women in high heels and low cut sweaters which they couldn’t imagine they would ever have anything in common with. They found the idea of spending a week in NY quite an intimidating prospect then. Now they come here to vacation any chance they get, which isn’t nearly often enough for my liking. 🙂

      October 20, 2010 at 6:30 am

  4. Red, a color not seen out west where the trees turn yellow, brown and gold. Missed the red of the maples and oaks out there. Oh, but they did have plenty of rust about!

    Fabulous photos and commentary. Our trees are mixed around Syracuse. Some are bare and some are just starting to turn. Very strange fall so far.

    October 20, 2010 at 10:21 am

    • Oh, I can’t imagine an autumn without red!!

      October 22, 2010 at 8:41 am

  5. I do remember when you originally shared that photo! I think Little Mr. must have been just a babe at the time.

    I’d like to know about the 6th photo down – I find it very cool looking. How did you get that reddish hint to the background?

    October 21, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    • Karma, all I did to that photo was a teeny bit of sharpening. I got down low to the ground and used the red tree behind as my backdrop. I took another using a part of a blue truck as my backdrop, but the blue was distracting since it didn’t stretch the full width of my shot.

      October 22, 2010 at 8:46 am

  6. Z

    good place for walks:)

    October 27, 2010 at 12:12 am

Leave a Reply

