A Phoenix Burning

An Apple for the Teacher

Saturday was our Annual Apple Picking Extravaganza with our dear friends, The Anywho’s.  *waves to Anywho*  I thought it was a great opportunity to capture that Portrait that Scott challenged us all to get.

Midday, bright (harsh) light and dramatic shadows didn’t help, and of course I forgot to try flash for this photo…(tried it later under the shadow of the trees, but wasn’t thrilled with the washed out affect.)

However, I DID try that “Vivid” setting that Milkay mentioned to me, and I LIKE it!!! In fact,  I may never take it off that setting.  I’ve been feeling that my D90 isn’t giving me the rich tones that I enjoyed with my D40, so this might solve that annoyance.

Anyway, Mister LOVED apple picking this year, and was so proud of his loot.  Here he is showing off his first pick of the day.

[Using P mode (thanks Scott!) the camera chose f/6.3, 1/640s.  I had to lighten shadows in post processing.]

9 responses

  1. Wonderful!! You just cannot BEAT that glowing smile!!! Well done!

    September 21, 2010 at 10:13 am

  2. Such a boy! Nice job on the photo, too.

    September 21, 2010 at 11:02 am

  3. What a great smile! Looks like you are getting over the “showing the kids’ faces on the internet” thing?

    September 21, 2010 at 11:27 am

    • Yeah, sort of. 🙂 I still second guess myself every single time though.

      September 21, 2010 at 12:04 pm

  4. Jennifer A (Bread and Putter)

    What a cutie! I love the natural expression and the dappled light.

    September 30, 2010 at 7:30 am

  5. KD, you should check out all the Picture Control settings. Vivid can be really cranked up to give a very saturated photo. Great for nature photos (not so for people). Used it a lot on my trip out west.

    October 5, 2010 at 6:57 pm

  6. What a charming little boy! And energic? Love the sun/shadows effect.

    October 6, 2010 at 9:03 am

  7. Nye

    Such a lovely smile, I have to check out the “Vivid” setting on my Canon, I still can’t find it.

    October 6, 2010 at 9:00 pm

  8. Pingback: Assignment 9: Recap « Views Infinitum

Leave a Reply

