A Phoenix Burning

Cinderella’s Castle

One evening early in our vacation, Zan said, “Why don’t you take your camera and go by yourself to the parks for the night and have some alone time?”  As you know, alone time is something I have been craving more than usual, so I did the unthinkable and left the family to fend for themselves for the evening .  I parked at the TTC in order to give myself options, and started out at Epcot.  I stood in front of the fountain for 10 whole minutes, doing nothing but watching.  Very cleansing.

Then I traversed the Lands, snapping photos, walking in and out of gardens and shops.  I ate fish and chips on a quiet bench overlooking the little lake, all alone with the ducks and little birdies.  And when I reached the end, I hopped the monorail back to the TTC planning to head back home to my family.

However, as I got off the monorail and began the walk to catch a tram to my car, I realized that dusk was just beginning to settle in, and if I hopped another monorail to Magic Kingdom, I just *might* catch that “sweet spot” that everyone talks about when the light is just right before the sun sets.  I stood debating for a minute, then took off at a dash to catch the monorail pulling into the station.

So glad I did.  I walked along Main Street enjoying the setting sun, dark clouds, the beautiful lights, and of course, the castle in all it’s colorful glory.

As tempted as I was to stay for the fireworks, the pull of my family was stronger.

8 responses

  1. How nice of Zan to let you off on your own! The parks are wonderful at night (even better once the crowds are gone). Hubby and I end each day walking the lagoon at EpCot after the fireworks and then, walking around the boardwalk, feeding the ducks on the beach. There is so much more to Disney than the mouse! 🙂

    WOW – just LOOK at that awesome sky! The last two shots are my favorite for their bright colors (I LOVE anything orange and pink!) I also like that the crowd just disappears into the darkness. Nice job! 🙂

    September 14, 2010 at 8:04 am

  2. It’s been such a long time since I was there, and how I wish I was in to photography then, as your post and shots make me realise what I missed back then… Great shots, and how nice to just be able to wander and do as you please for a few hours…

    September 14, 2010 at 3:38 pm

  3. I can’t even imagine wandering Disney on my own! Such luxury. 😉

    September 14, 2010 at 8:51 pm

  4. Yes, all, it was such a treat! It’s an odd feeling wandering alone, but a good odd feeling! 🙂
    And Funky…I am still frustrated by missed shots! I had all sorts of ideas about shots I wanted to get this time, but wound up getting very few of them.

    September 15, 2010 at 5:56 am

  5. Renae

    How gorgeous! The first especially. Love the purple sky with the turquoise castle. Very Ariel-esque.

    I found myself missing a lot of shots this trip. Too busy tending to the needs of the little ones, but that’s what it’s all about anyway, isn’t it? And there will be plenty of other trips. See you down there in 2012? LOL

    September 15, 2010 at 8:38 am

  6. Only way not to miss shots, write it down. I know that sounds weird but, if I don’t, I forget what I thought I would not.

    These are very nice. The changing lights on the castle is for the guests but I think it is for us photographers to keep shooting very change. I think in the past, Kodak probably paid them to do it so we’d use more film. 😉

    Even more fun than being alone, is being with other photographers. For people who will be in Walt Disney World in early or late December, I know of a couple of groups having photo meets.

    September 15, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    • Sounds like a lot of fun Scott….someday…. 🙂

      September 15, 2010 at 6:02 pm

  7. Same here Renae…with the kiddos I ( and husband!) in tow, the opportunities to get “the shot” were few and far between. Ah, well… 🙂

    September 15, 2010 at 6:02 pm

Leave a Reply

