A Phoenix Burning

We Made It…

So, I will NEVER, I repeat, NEVER drive to Florida again.

We prepared to leave home on Saturday morning at 2:00am.  Then overslept.  So we got up at 2:30, and gathered the last minute things.  As we made to walk out the door at 3:30, Zan got an alert from work, so he had to get online just to “check something out” before we left.  That something took about 20 minutes.  So we finally got out of the house, locked up, waved our goodbyes to our dear home, and began the 13 hour drive to Fayetteville, NC.  Mister complained as we left the house that his belly hurt.  Assuming it was a bit of gas, we proceeded.  Within 10 minutes he was complaining more, so at the very first off ramp, we pulled over at a local truck stop, figuring he needed his morning potty break.  The second we stepped out the rest stop door, the vomiting began.  So we turned back toward home and spent a very long day nursing my little boy with the unexpected stomach bug.  False starts suck.

Fast forward to Sunday morning…we planned to attempt a 2am leave again as Mister was feeling much better and he was keeping down food.  We overslept again…this time until 4:15am.  Got on the road to Fayetteville at 5:00am and proceeded to drive the first 7 hours through a monsoon.  Long story short, too many necessary stops, slow driving due to the downpours, and we pulled into a hotel 2 hours shy of Fayetteville at 9:30pm, exhausted, frazzled, with melting down kids. 

We slept in, ate breakfast, and were on the road to Orlando at 10:00am Monday morning…pushed fast down I95…arrived in Orlando exhausted and sore, but mighty relieved at 10:00pm. 

Did I mention that I will NEVER drive to Florida again????

On a positive note, despite the horrible weather, we had a fantastic first day here.  Started the day with a solo trip to the Super Target while Zan kept the kids….way too big, but had everything I needed.  The kids swam, I organized, and after lunch we headed to Magic Kingdom for a short afternoon.  (We are all pretty whooped still.)  Within an hour, we head to Toontown to kill half an hour before our scheduled FastPass time.  As I stepped up onto Minnie’s porch, I looked at the woman with the adorable kids in front of me and thought, “God, she looks SO familiar….”  Although I knew she would be here at the same time, never in a million years did I think we would actually just run into each other….

But lo and behold, “RENAE??!!”

Yep, it was her!  Kinda cool, don’tcha think?  🙂 

Now really, I have to do something about those bloodshot eyes and go to bed soon, and tomorrow I will even do my hair because this photo of me is just embarrassing, but here we are! 

It’s a small world after all.

14 responses

  1. OMG! I was just going to tell you that Renae was there right now too!!! You found out before I had the chance! Oh that is too funny! Who would think in a place of soooooo many people you would just run into each other like that. Very cool!

    August 25, 2010 at 7:49 am

    • It was incredible! She was, literally, in front of me when I stepped onto the porch. Glad I had seen photos so I recognized her. 🙂

      August 25, 2010 at 8:14 pm

  2. WOW!! That is soooooo cool!! I am so glad you two ran into each other. Isn’t great finally meeting internet friends in person??

    I am so sorry you had such a crappy drive down there. What a terrible start. Well, I am hoping in return you get a beautfiul, wonderful week. Enjoy and say hi to Mickey!!!!

    August 25, 2010 at 7:56 am

    • Yes! Hopefully we will be able to catch up with each other again before they head back home.
      Thanks Jen!

      August 25, 2010 at 8:16 pm

  3. Hey, you guys should totally take a ride on It’s a Small World together. Hee hee hee!!

    August 25, 2010 at 7:57 am

  4. Oh, gee, now I have something to look forward to on my drive down to Orlando. 🙂 Well, with no little kids it shouldn’t be too bad, right?

    August 25, 2010 at 8:04 am

    • Scott…I guess I should say NEVER AGAIN {with kids}.
      If it had just been Zan and me, no problem. However, I still don’t know if I would choose to do it in two days. It’s quite a haul …the last three to four hours of each day were pure torture. I think we saw the bathrooms of at least eight different McDonald’s along the way though. All quite clean. And the rest areas in North Carolina were beautiful. No lack of food, gas, or bathrooms along the way. And the traffic on I95 wasn’t nearly as bad as I expected it to be. We took 87 to 88 to 81, and met up with I95 outside of Richmond. Not a bad route all in all.

      August 25, 2010 at 8:24 pm

  5. Okay, here are the myriad of thoughts that went through my mind while reading your post!

    ‘You are so brave to drive to FL!’ (and insane, too. Did that with my parents as a kid and came back thinking I will NEVER do that as an adult!)

    ‘Oh, poor child!’

    ‘Someone needs to buy an alarm clock…’ 😉

    ‘How neat to run into someone you know! Love Toontown!’ (Do you know it is going away soon?? So better enjoy it while you can!)

    ‘Yay! Glad to hear you are having good time!’ 🙂

    Heading down ourselves mid-Oct for Food & Wine Festival. Flying, of course! 🙂

    August 25, 2010 at 10:51 am

    • LOL! Well, as far as the alarm clock goes, we have one (or two or three.) The problem was pure exhaustion. Never a good idea to START a 24 hour drive tired I suppose.

      Not brave….crazy. But we wanted to stay for two weeks (almost) so the air fare saved gave us the money for the second week of lodging costs. Sounded all logical at the time. 😉

      Yes, my poor baby boy. 😦 He was very sad. When we turned around for home, he was so pathetic. Crying, “But Mickey is waiting for me!!!” It was a very sad day. However, we are so fortunate that it happened when it did and we had the option to return home. He was SO sick for most of the day. All in all, we consider ourselves blessed and watched over. It could have been much worse. And, he recovered very quickly…It was a 24 hour thing, and then over with no lasting stomach issues lingering.

      And YAY! We ARE having a good time! Today was great…Magic Kingdom, dodging raindrops and downpours, light crowds (well, light for Disney) and an evening “home” in the pool.
      All is well.

      August 25, 2010 at 8:34 pm

  6. Pingback: We Made It… (via A Half Hour a Day) « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

  7. By the way, I love the picture of you two. You both look so happy to have run into each other!

    August 26, 2010 at 8:12 am

  8. Well that sure sounds like one pretty awful and incident packed journey.. I’ve driven to Disney too a couple of times, but then I only drove from Orlando airport… lol… At least you had a cool time once there though…

    August 27, 2010 at 3:21 pm

  9. Renae

    That was pretty amazing! Out of all four parks, we happen to be at the same one, at the same attraction, and literally right next to each other in line. What are the odds! Why is it that I don’t play the lottery???

    Can’t wait to see your photos when we get back!

    September 3, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    • It was absolutely amazing!! 🙂 I truly could not believe my eyes. LOL 🙂

      September 9, 2010 at 8:30 pm

Leave a Reply

