A Phoenix Burning

Why I Use Professional Exposure Mode (via Views Infinitum)

Great post by Scott if you haven’t already seen it, and a good chance to test out this new “Re-Blog It” feature. 🙂

Why I Use Professional Exposure Mode A couple of months ago, Damien Franco of YourPhotoTips.com wrote about why he uses Aperture Priority Mode for most of his photography.  It is an excellent article which shows how a photographer thinks through the exposure triangle of Shutter Speed-Aperture-ISO.  Damien goes on to rebuke a couple of popular myths which often hold back photographers using digital cameras. I do not agree with his choice of exposure modes, however. What if I was to t … Read More

via Views Infinitum

4 responses

  1. Didn’t even know there was a Re-Blog It feature in WP.com. Thanks for trying it out with my post. 🙂

    August 9, 2010 at 7:30 am

    • Yes…it’s a pull down menu on the “like” button. 🙂

      August 9, 2010 at 8:33 am

  2. When I read this I trotted off to experiment, because I enjoy little blogging innovations as much as the next person. Here I am back with my two cents worth.

    I don’t like the Like button. It reminds me too much of the Facebook thing, and I am an old grouch about Facebook. I recently read a Wall post about a devastating illness, and several people had Like-d it! I presume they meant they Like’d the person and wanted to offer support, but for crying out loud!

    So anyway, I Like-d this post and Scott’s latest–it couldn’t hurt, as I genuinely DO like your blogs–and pondered the reblogging option. The only place I can think of where it would be really useful would be in a digest that doesn’t produce original content. (And I do mean digest, not blog-scraping tortfeasor.) I could see, for example, a digest of posts about great places to visit in Michigan, or about photography tips and tricks, or about Civil War book reviews. I might want to consult such a digest . . . but I don’t want to maintain one unless someone is prepared to pay me to do it.

    Because it would be boring.

    August 9, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    • Gerry, I definitely see your point on the whole “like” concept. People can be truly asinine. However, I suppose just because people misuse the feature, doesn’t mean the feature itself is bad. I have yet to decide how I feel about it.

      Although I tried the Re-Blog It feature, I don’t think I like the concept. As you point out, it makes it very easy for pseudo-bloggers to build an entire blog on the backbone of other peoples’ work. The digest idea is a neat one, but the possible abuses are more likely.

      August 10, 2010 at 7:48 am

Leave a Reply

