A Phoenix Burning

So this new phone in function…

…is a very intriguing idea.
At first I thought that I would have no use for it.
But then, in the car, Mister began this loooooong soliloquy recalling a dream (or it was a story he made up…hard to tell which) and I realized right then the possibilities.

You see, listening to any three year old telling a story is a treat….the text may not be all that entertaining, but the speech patterns and meter usually are.

I wish I had thought fast enough to capture it, but maybe next time I will. This particular dream/story went something like this:

“One time, Daddy taked me to dat skeery house!!!! (as he pointed to a big ol’ mansion in Saratoga.) It was SKEEEEEEEEERY!!!! Der wuz a big pointy thing with sharp teeph, and it BITED ME right der!!!!!!!! (as he pointed to his hand with his big round eyes and eyebrows raised.) And Daddy taked me OUTside, and I ’till sawed it troo the window, and we runned and it was SKEEEEEEEEEEERY!!!! And we runned and we runned away reawy fast like dat (as he pumped his little arms in his seat) and I don’t like dat house. It is dark and it is SKEEEEEEEEEEERY!!!!!!!!”

Stories told by three year olds….priceless.

4 responses

  1. It is fleeting but the stories continue and they will make you laugh and laugh, like this one. My 8 year old daughter is especially adept. My son has already developed the series of grunts that will pass for communication as he matures in life.

    July 15, 2010 at 7:43 am

  2. That is so adorable! Kepp writing those stories down, or record them, so you will never lose the memories.

    July 15, 2010 at 9:56 am

  3. Love it! That would be really funny to listen to his voice telling it with the new audio-blog option. My youngest told one early in kindergarten about turkeys from the near by farm running in to the cafeteria at lunchtime and running all over the tables, and some kid’s eye popped out and rolled across the table! LOL!

    July 15, 2010 at 11:17 am

  4. Precious! Oh, you sooooo have to start recording these! 🙂

    July 16, 2010 at 9:11 am

Leave a Reply

