A Phoenix Burning

Cellphotos…

So, I lost my cell phone within the first hour of arriving in Ocean City last week. I have never in my life lost a cell phone, and found this loss extremely insulting. Retracing our steps and searching the one restaurant we had visited to no avail, we had no choice but to suspend my service as soon as Zan could get his laptop up and running. Three days later, after hearing nothing from some good samaritan about finding my beloved phone, we begrudgingly visited the local Verizon store to get a new one.  I was cranky about the whole idea, me being not so good with that whole “change” thing, and me still being mad at my phone for losing itself on me.   And of course, they no longer make the phone that I had, so I couldn’t replace it.  *sigh*

But they had a great deal on this new Android phone…whatever that was. “Fine, whatever…as long as it has a keyboard, I don’t care what else it does.”  So after much hassle, and a long process of getting our account straightened out (thanks to a forgotten and irretrievable password) I was handed my new phone. He said I could come back later for an instructional session when they were less busy, but since I had already “wasted” nearly two hours of vacation in the Verizon store, I wasn’t about to waste anymore. I’m a quick learner and figured, “How hard can it be?”

Well, turns out this phone is quite complicated compared to my old phone, and has a thousand more capabilities and features than my old phone. Even answering an incoming call was a challenge at first.   And forget about dialing on the ultra sensitive touch screen.  UGH! At first I hated it, and considered returning it.

Well, it has taken me nearly two weeks to figure out how to use this thing effectively, but my, oh, my….I can hardly believe I am learning to love yet another gadget.  This little cell phone has wormed it’s way into my heart by attacking my one central weakness….the ability to take and share photos effortlessly.  Once again, that old adage, “The best camera is the one you have with you” is proven true.

Here…..have a look.

This was obviously from the trip….

And yeah, I know what I said about not sharing photos of the kids, but how could I resist this?  I took this last night on the lawn at Saratoga Performing Arts Center.   SPAC is the summer home of the New York City Ballet, and last night was “American Girl Night.”  The plan was to leave Mister home with Daddy for the evening, but as Zan was travelling, he was stuck coming with us.  Obviously, he made the best of it, although he was more interested in watching the airplanes than the ballet itself.  🙂

Lordy, what will they come up with next that I’ll have to have????

10 responses

  1. This is waaaay too gadgety for me! And probably too dangerous to have, with just a voice plan with the $10 add-on texting! LOL I like somple and easy to use. Glad you’re starting to like it, though. The pictures turned out really nice!
    I’m curious, which phone did you have before?

    July 16, 2010 at 5:50 am

  2. iPads, Androids, D90’s… you are really the tech-girl, aren’t you! LOL. My hubby has an iPhone and I’ve often been rather surprised by the decent pictures it takes. I like his phone, but never wanted to pay the $30 data plan to have one of my own!

    July 16, 2010 at 8:52 am

    • I KNOW!
      It’s almost embarrassing. But the only one I’ll take responsibility for is the D90. The iPad was a gift (a much protested gift) and the phone was a “necessity.” That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. 😉

      July 16, 2010 at 9:00 am

  3. Isn’t losing your phone the scariest thing? I don’t carry a handbag or purse so sometimes, my phone ends up in strange places. Just recently, I thought I’d lost my phone in the local grocery store, and as I was in a panic to find it (hubby was in Scotland so not a good time to be without my phone) the florist saw me and asked for the number so she could call it. Next thing I know, I hear a familiar ring from the bottom of my shopping cart! (It was buried under a mountain of goods). What a relief!

    July 16, 2010 at 9:24 am

  4. You couldn’t take photos and share them with the old phone? Well, welcome to the 21st century. 🙂 You now you can tweet with that phone too with the right app. In fact, I bet you’ll find a lot of photography apps and utility apps like Sunset/sunrise times calculated for wherever you happen to be. Have fun!

    July 16, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    • I could take them Scott, but sharing them was a pain in the *ahem*. With this phone, I take the picture and up comes this little menu that let’s me share it to email, Facebook, Twitter, etc….there are a bunch of options…and gives you a comment box and all. Much, much simpler. 🙂

      July 16, 2010 at 4:36 pm

  5. LOL… I so know what you mean about the phones… I got a touch screen android a few months back, and was blown away with how it’s no longer just a phone anymore… Who needs anything else when you have one of those… although I have to admit it’s not quite ready to replace my beloved DSLR…

    July 17, 2010 at 5:19 am

  6. You have no idea how envious this whole conversation is making a person who doesn’t even have a strong enough signal to make a voice call from her cellphone when she’s at home.

    July 18, 2010 at 6:15 pm

Leave a Reply

