A Phoenix Burning

Sustenance

This was breakfast….

But I neeeeeeeeeeeeeeded it!

School is over.

Big Girl is sick.

I am helping prepare for my Mom’s Retirement Party on Saturday which means preparing food for 100 people.

And I have to write a speech for her.

Oh, and did I mention that Mister had to have a tick tweezered out of his nether regions on Tuesday???

(So what if that was two days ago…I’m still traumatized. Β It’s all about me, no matter that it was HIS nether regions.)

So I neeeeeeeeeeeeeded it.

Don’t judge me.

10 responses

  1. No judging here, that’s MY kind of breakfast!!!!
    Hope Big Girls feels better soon! No fun, being sick during summer break.

    June 24, 2010 at 10:19 am

  2. Wait, wait . . . Moms get to retire? I did not know this. This is very good news. Can I have a bite of that sundae?

    June 24, 2010 at 11:06 am

  3. Haha… Well those may be very valid reason… But that type of breakfast is sooooo not fair, especially as I’m only allowed to have muesli… lol… πŸ˜‰

    June 24, 2010 at 1:08 pm

  4. Ooooh, chocolate. ME WANT! No judgements here. Sometimes you just need to indulge. I have waaaaaay too many days of cereal, yogurt, fruit and salads that sometime, (whispered) I just HAVE to have Cinnamon Pop-tarts! πŸ™‚ Oh, and I’ve been known to have cake for breakfast. So what? As far as I know, there AREN’T any breakfast police… πŸ˜‰

    This reminds me of a Bill Cosby story where he gave his kids chocolate cake for breakfast and rationalized it by thinking, ‘hmmm, there are eggs and milk and wheat IN cake! That’s nutrition!” He was the kid’s hero that morning as they sat and ate cake and sang:

    “Dad is great!
    Gives us the chocolate cake!”

    Then, mom walks into the kitchen… πŸ™‚

    Can see the skit here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sRmN4KnfPxQ

    June 24, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    • OMG Tracy! Those Bill Cosby lines are oft repeated ones here in our house! Ha! Just like Monty Python! πŸ™‚

      June 27, 2010 at 8:29 am

  5. I don’t know, KD. Your diet lately.

    Kathy, that is a skit from one of Bill Cosby’s earlier stand up routines. Dad had the right idea until Mom appeared. LOL

    June 24, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    • Kathy?? Who is Kathy? And, yes, I know. πŸ˜‰

      June 24, 2010 at 3:31 pm

      • Sorry…had my guest blogger on my mind when I typed this. Okay, DAisy? πŸ˜‰

        June 25, 2010 at 9:10 am

        • Sure Scooter! Happens to me every once in awhile!

          June 25, 2010 at 9:58 am

  6. Had a week like that myself not too long ago, KD. “Moderation in everything” is my philosophy, so it must work for chocolate cake for breakfast too!
    It is Sunday morning as I am typing this, so your big day must be done and hopefully the kids are allowing you a lazy, relaxing kind of day!

    June 27, 2010 at 8:32 am

Leave a Reply

