A Phoenix Burning

A Little Bit of This and a Little Bit of That

I sit here thinking that I have so much to post about, and yet I do not know what to post.

Do I write about the fact that school is ending and share all the excitement and trepidation that brings with it? The girls will be home! YAY! The girls will be home! YIKES!!!

Do I write about my Mother’s impending retirement, and the mixed feelings this daughter has about that? So thrilled to have more time with my Mom, excited about the freedom she has more than earned, looking forward to seeing what adventures she and my Dad will have from this point forward, yet terrified when I think too hard about this milestone and all it means.

Do I tell you about my continued challenges with my back, and all the other little plunky things my body seems to be working through? The relief that they can find nothing wrong and yet the fear that they have still been unable to eliminate MS as the culprit? I like the “nothing is wrong” theory, and yet rationality has never been my strong suit so I worry and I wonder, but refuse to allow myself to woe.

Or should I share my joy that after an intense period of travel, Zan’s schedule has calmed down and our family seems to be re-stabilizing? Mister no longer asks when Daddy is coming home for a visit, and the neighbors have come to believe our assurances that we are truly not, in fact, separated.

Maybe I need to tell you about the Showtime series The Tudors that has captured my *ahem* attention…and how much I love watching it on my iPad through Netflix after everyone else is in bed. (If I could marry my iPad I would. My camera could be my best man.)

Or do I whisper about my secret addiction and the embarrassing truth that I am all fangirly about the June 30th release of Eclipse? (Team Edward!)

Maybe I should share with you the fact that we have only one weekend this summer that doesn’t have something scheduled into it, and I am holding onto that weekend for dear life.

Or I could tell you about our upcoming vacation in Ocean City, NJ? Or about our planned late summer vacation to Disneyworld? Both of which have us all on the edge of our seats in anticipation. πŸ™‚

So many things I could tell you…some of which are lighthearted or foolish…and others that I just can’t dwell on without getting all overwhelmed and jellystomached. Therefore I will settle for sharing this little snapshot of this moment in my brain, and perhaps I can come up with a more cohesive post once my mind settles into a more stable rhythm! Life is good, I am blessed, and change is a part of life…it just so happens that it is a part I’m not so good at.

11 responses

  1. I hope getting all this out of your head has given you some peace! Sometimes it is the ONLY way to calm all the thoughts spinning around. You have quite alot going on in there, KD! I can see why you might feel at times that you are getting a little close to going off the axis. Take a moment. Breathe. Relax. Center.

    Now don’t you feel better? πŸ™‚

    The one thing I just HAD to comment on is your trip to Disney! Hubby and I have been there, oh, has to be at least 60 times so it is safe to say we know our way around. Feel free to ask any questions and I’ll give you the scoop. Hugs!

    June 15, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    • Yes in fact! I did feel better!

      Thanks for the offer of Disney info! 60 times?!?! I bow to the Master!
      I will definitely “use” you for any in depth insider secrets. πŸ™‚

      This will be our 6th visit as a family, so we are going in with a bit of experience. We are very excited about the fact that we will be there for nearly two weeks this time! And with the youngest being 3, diaper less travel will be a whole new experience for us, not to mention the much lighter day bag without all it’s baby paraphernalia in it! WhooHooo!

      June 16, 2010 at 6:23 am

      • Oh, you are experts now, too! Two weeks….nice. We used to go for lengths of time as well, but now, with an aging kitty at home I don’t like to leave her for more than a few days. The kids ae most likely now are all at a really good age. Oh, you are going to have so much fun! πŸ™‚

        June 16, 2010 at 7:29 am

  2. Not so good at change, eh? Me neither, but we soldier on anyway. We are, after all, Moms. Navy SEALS have nothing on Moms.

    I am going to steal “jellystomached” and “refuse to allow myself to woe.” Also “If I could marry my iPad I would. My camera could be my best man.”

    I am going to make a poem of these, and other stolen gems, and recite it at Stone Circle, a gift to the Sisterhood of the Shoes. Don’t worry if this does not make sense. Most of life is like that.

    Let’s go with “Nothing is wrong” and keep a bag of frozen peas in the freezer for the days when something appears to be less than totally correct. That should cover all eventualities. Most of them. OK, the major ones.

    OK, now here is what I want to know. If I buy an iPad and take it to the library in Traverse City where they have actual broadband service, could I download Netflix goodies and take them home to watch in the pile of pillows in the hallway when a tornado threatens? Because that would be a very interesting alternative to a storybook.

    June 15, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    • Gerry, I’m pleased that you found anything worth stealing in that post! πŸ™‚ Steal away!

      Now, unfortunately Netflix movies come in as live streaming so you wouldn’t be able to download them for later viewing. However, if you are the type who loves rewatching certain movies as comfort food, you could buy them on iTunes and download them to the iPad to have at your permanent disposal. :). Oh, yes, definitely marry-able this little gadget!

      June 16, 2010 at 6:40 am

  3. This is only a moment in your head?

    The boardwalk at Ocean City is the best. Find out when they do family night when you visit. They have bands and entertainers up and down the Boardwalk. Oh, please, bring me back some Johnson Carmel popcorn!!! It’s best when warm but I’ll take it however I can get it. πŸ™‚

    Of course, if you have any questions about WDW…

    Apple’s iPad and the new iPhone are calling me but I must resist for now. How does my blog look on it?

    June 16, 2010 at 9:35 am

  4. OMG isn’t Johnson Carmel popcorn the BEST?!! And George’s chocolate macaroons…..I always get a half dozen all for me that everyone knows they aren’t allowed to touch! lol We get some on the first day to keep at the house, and on the last day to bring home.
    We CANNOT wait.

    And your blog on the iPad??? GORGEOUS!

    And I just discovered this little stroke of brilliance this morning.

    http://www.dropbox.com/

    So apparently, with the purchase of a twelve dollar app, I can create Word documents and upload them to Dropbox and then access them from any of my computers. I’m also finding out that printing from the iPad is possible with a bluetooth printer and another inexpensive app. Oh, yes….I’m beginning to think it is an adequate replacement for the laptop afterall—not just a fun toy, but a powerful tool. It has it’s quirks, but none I haven’t been able to get around yet.

    June 16, 2010 at 9:48 am

    • Looked at my blog using an iPad at the Apple store last night and my photos get cut off on the right side with the WordPress.com theme I am using because of the iPad’s screen resolution. Going to have to rethink that.

      Have you seen TS3, yet? Bring tissues!

      June 24, 2010 at 7:23 am

      • They do? Really? I honestly hadn’t noticed. Will have to compare your Flickr photos to the blog photos.
        And no, haven’t see it yet. Kinda scared to! lol Already cried when I saw the first sneak peak a few months ago……………….I’m such a sap.

        June 24, 2010 at 10:07 am

        • You can really see it with the Flying Boat. You barely see the boat on the right in the second image. Captions are cut off, too.

          June 24, 2010 at 12:25 pm

  5. I love reading that I am not the only one who has things ticking through her brain like this. Now that I have started blogging too, as I tick through them, I put a little checkmark in my head on the ones that I think could eventually become a decent blog post. As I told Kathy over at Lake Superior Spirit, in my downtime these days (not much lately but plenty soon with the impending end of the school year!) a blog post almost writes itself in my head. Its pretty cool!

    As Gerry already said, you have some neat ways of describing things, and you are making me hungry for an iPad, a DSLR and a trip to Disney! πŸ˜‰

    June 19, 2010 at 7:36 am

Leave a Reply

