A Phoenix Burning

The “Gift” of an Ordinary Monday

Truly, I’m trying to find it in me to be appreciative of this ordinary day, but it’s really hard when I woke up to this:

and this,

and this,

and this,

and this.

I don’t think there’s is a single clean surface in my house.

On the other hand, I suppose I could concentrate on being appreciative of the weekend that got me into this mess instead.  It was GLORIOUS, and not a stitch of housework got done.

The weather…perfection.

The installation of the new sandbox…pure joy (except for the sand on my floors and in my laundry.)

A Girl’s Night with my dear friend Anywho…more relaxation than I’ve had in a long time.

Zan home to share the weekend with us…total contentment.

And the kids getting along and happy…peace (and the daring hope that the summer vacation won’t be pure torture after all.)

So, I sacrifice a beautiful Monday slaving over my house, turning it back into the home I like, but in trade I got a weekend that I won’t soon forget.  Sounds like a fair trade to me.

7 responses

  1. Ha! Sounds like you had the PERFECT weekend, KD and yes, a messy home (which is a happy home, BTW) was a fair trade. But, I completely understand your feelings this morning and so wish I could hand you a magic wand to clean it all up quickly! Wouldn’t that be so very nice??

    Look at it this way…while you clean and tidy each mess, recall the happy time that created it and things may not seem so bad after all! 😀

    May 24, 2010 at 8:19 am

    • Yeah, my magic wand never works. I must be doing something wrong. 😉

      May 24, 2010 at 7:24 pm

  2. What a gift – photos of a house that really is lived in. There is nothing quite so depressing as magazine photos of perfectly tidy houses – where the occupents claim to have kids and live a ‘normal’ family life.

    I don’t have any kids living at home – but still have their stuff. Now that they’re gone I lack an excuse for my messy house, except that I am too busy enjoying life.

    May 24, 2010 at 9:10 am

    • Welcome to my little corner Dressing!
      I’m glad to hear you appreciated the “lived in” look. LOL My house always looks lived in, but it drives me bananas when it looks *this* lived in! I worked my butt off today, and only managed to get the kitchen, bathrooms and laundry spic and span. Tomorrow’s overwhelming task….the dreaded paperwork. Ugh!
      Come back soon! The more the merrier. 🙂

      May 24, 2010 at 7:32 pm

  3. Looks like life to me, KD. 🙂 Tidy up remember how Mary Poppins did it…with a song.

    May 24, 2010 at 10:16 am

    • I’ll take Mary Poppin’s wand-less magic any day!

      May 24, 2010 at 7:35 pm

  4. I don’t have children yet, but I left my husband for a single evening and returned to a similar status in my home. I was like, “Did you have a party???” His reply…”No, I just made ramen noodles for dinner”. Ramen? That took a counter full of dishes??? siiiiiiigh. Oh how I love my messy hubby.

    http://www.laundryandvodka.com

    May 29, 2010 at 10:34 am

Leave a Reply

