A Phoenix Burning

Scott’s Challenge-Creative Exposure

Head on over to Scott’s Views Infinitum for the next Photography Challenge!

This month’s topic–Creative Exposure.  Scott says, “One of the first decisions a photographer makes before he takes a photograph is what exposure to use.  There is no wrong answer as long as the photo is not over or underexposed.”  I will go one step farther and say, that there is no wrong answer…period.  As long as your exposure is intentionally aimed at creating your photographic vision, even over or underexposure has it’s place in photography in my humble opinion.  (But then again, what do I know?! I’m still a newbie.)  😉

One case in point:

This photo was dreadfully underexposed technically, but correct creatively.

Sounds like a fun assignment, one that can be interpreted broadly.  A great opportunity to experiment with those aperture settings.

So let’s see…a dig into the archives for some examples, perhaps?

Can’t wait to see what our cyberfriends from around the globe do with this one!  Happy Shooting!

7 responses

  1. Pingback: New Photo Assignment! « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

  2. I have no idea how the exposure part is working here, but the sleeping baby cradled safely in the hands of experience – that is a very special image.

    May 12, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    • Thank you Gerry! This is my darling niece and my angel Mother. 🙂
      This was shot with an aperture of f/10 which gave me a slightly soft background, and I chose to focus on their hands rather than the more typical focus on the face. I didn’t want a completely blurred background, but didn’t want the entire scene in sharp focus either. If I could have a do-over I would bring my aperture down just a bit more for a bit more “soft.”

      May 13, 2010 at 8:03 pm

  3. Oh, I can see you are going to push the envelope with this assignment, KD. Go for it! 🙂

    May 14, 2010 at 8:34 am

    • LOL
      Yeah…I’m such a rebel! 🙂

      May 14, 2010 at 8:24 pm

  4. dalia66

    I love these! especially the 2nd one–very cool!!

    May 14, 2010 at 8:35 pm

  5. Z

    smoking:)

    May 20, 2010 at 12:05 am

Leave a Reply

