A Phoenix Burning

Wonderful Wacky Wavy Windows

As most of you know, I live in a 112 year old house.  When we first moved in, I remember an uncle of mine saying, “Well, you’ll have to replace all those windows.  Look at all the waves in that glass.”  I remember smiling and thinking, “NEVER!”  I love my wavy windows, and would never wish them away.  I view them as I view my well-earned stretch marks…proof of endurance.

As I sat watching the wind blow the budding trees outside my window this afternoon, I was fascinated by the way the waves in the windows distorted the branches.  The colors right now are stunning, and I wondered if I might be able to capture some of the colorful swirls in the glass.

The only post-processing done on these photos was a square crop, and a very slight saturation bump.

If only my own stretch marks were as lovely!  Kinda cool, eh?  🙂

12 responses

  1. What a wonderful way to deal with the winds! Ours are FIERCE today and I already have a broken patio umbrella and one of our dwarf alberta spruces in a planter on our front steps has been blown over and down the walk – crazy! These are lovely photos! We have wavy windows too (house is 1929) but I don’t have much color to photograph (yet)! Well done! I’m very impressed!

    April 29, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    • I took heart with the cool winds yesterday, knowing that they were bringing warmer temps behind them. 🙂

      April 30, 2010 at 6:33 am

  2. VERY cool, especially the second and third. (Love your new header, too!)
    We had a wavy window in our living room, that hubby insisted on replacing when we remodeled the living room. We actually replaced both windows…. can’t remember why, because as far as I can remember they were just fine, except for the waves.
    Anyway… these pictures make me miss that wavy window.

    April 29, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    • Some people want “perfect.” 🙂 I’ll bet he hates dandelions on the lawn too, doesn’t he? lol

      April 30, 2010 at 6:49 am

  3. Kinda cool is right! Wavy windows remind me of my OSV days! Love the color of the buds in the 2nd shot.

    April 29, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    • It’s been so rainy or windy, I haven’t gotten out to photograph that budding tree yet. Maybe today?

      April 30, 2010 at 7:01 am

  4. Zandic

    Your stretch marks are pretty.

    April 29, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    • You lie, but thank you…. 🙂

      April 30, 2010 at 6:34 am

  5. The wavy windows are delicious. I’m glad you preserved them, and I’m glad you thought to use them to show us spring color in motion.

    My little place in the woods was thrown together as a summer cottage in the 1970s and has, shudder, aluminum frame windows with nothing to recommend them at all. I miss my old Detroit house with its idiosyncracies . . . but not enough to move back there and leave the lakes! It’s always something. I envy the long thread of your life winding through one place.

    April 29, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    • I guess the old saying, “You can’t have it all,” is true. I love my wavy windows, but hate the ice that forms inside them every winter…I envy peoples’ pretty little laundry rooms off the kitchen every time I go downstairs into my creepy spider infested basement to switch laundry loads. And, ahhhh….a little cottage in the woods would be a lovely escape, aluminum windows and all! 🙂

      April 30, 2010 at 6:52 am

  6. Great idea taking these lovely and very special pictures through your wavy windows. I like them very much – and I wish at least one of my modern low-energy-double-windows had the same view……..

    April 30, 2010 at 6:30 am

    • My flowering crabapple tree is going to be gorgeous this year. 🙂 Very excited.

      April 30, 2010 at 7:00 am

Leave a Reply

