A Phoenix Burning

Bubbles!

Last night was beautiful, so the dishes waited while I went outside to play.

This was my favorite.  Boy, it is hard to manually focus on bubbles!!!!  This was one of a few successes.

I played with the color on this shot a few different ways, and finally settled on black and white as my favorite version.

And this next shot, I couldn’t make a decision on, so I’ve included both.

Within the next couple of weeks, this tree (which comes up through the middle of our deck,) will be offering us full shade.

Now come the “almost didn’t make the cut” photos.  The background on this one saved it from my delete folder, and sharpening just made it look all wrong, so it is what it is.

And this one just feels off to me, but I can’t figure out what it is.  Anyone care to analyze what went wrong here?

And this poor bubble was the prettiest of them all with it’s backlighting, but it was so out of focus in my capture that it hardly did it justice…so I played.

What, oh, what, will I find to shoot today?

7 responses

  1. Wait…you did the bubbles, too? I’m even more impressed. The first one as I said on flickr is outstanding. Really like that one.

    Of the two you asked for opinions on, I like the color version as it makes the reflection stand out more. That gets lost in the B&W one.

    The outtakes…well, are outtakes. Delete and move on (or create a collection of outtakes). Might be fun to look back on them now and again to keep feet firmly on ground. Me…I delete them. Like my feet above ground. 😉

    April 21, 2010 at 9:28 am

    • Yeah, I really have a problem with that whole delete thing. Wish I didn’t, but I do. 🙂
      Maybe that should be my next New Year’s Resolution. 🙂

      Thanks for your opinions Scott. 🙂

      April 21, 2010 at 9:03 pm

  2. Oooooh, bubbles!! How fun! I tried once to do bubbles and I agree – so difficult to focus! You did well! The first shot is amazing – nice context with the wand.

    April 21, 2010 at 9:35 am

  3. Love the bubbles! Fun!
    A couple shots here say photo currently unavailable? Did you decide to delete them after all?

    April 21, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    • Whoops. Just changed permissions on them. I fixed it so you should be able to see them now.

      April 21, 2010 at 9:03 pm

  4. Bubbles! I think the reason we love them so is that they simply lift our hearts up, up and away for a happy, shiny moment.

    I have a hard time deleting my deathless prose, even though the pruning is as much a part of the craft as the scribbling. Digital real estate is cheap. I keep lots of folders of “stuff” that is either not ready to use or badly done but has a certain something or . . . that I just can’t delete. I call it my mulch pile, and surprisingly it’s a good place to visit when I’m looking for refreshment for my brain. Maybe it would work the same way for photos? Although they do take a whole lot more space.

    April 26, 2010 at 9:39 am

  5. Z

    i like the B&W bubble:)

    April 26, 2010 at 8:57 pm

Leave a Reply

