A Phoenix Burning

What Would Kannidu?

So, here was my early morning Tweet:

Foolhardy, careless, irresponsible, wreckless. All those things I’m not, but wish I could be for just one blazing fun day!!!

Been feeling that annual craving to escape, and the injuries, sicknesses, and traveling husbands (well, one traveling husband to be exact)  have been adding to that feeling of oppression that leads to my soul’s craving for adventure.  This morning the feeling was amplified, thus my Twit, I mean, Tweet.

But it got me thinking…what exactly would I do if I could let go of my obligations and responsibilities, as well as my worrisome, predictable, overly cautious  spirit for just a little while?  (Of course, I got rid of that one day condition.  Oh, yeah….and I went with the assumption that money and physical ability were no object.  lol)  What things would I desire to do that I won’t do because of who I am, because of my personality?  For example, I have no desire to bungy jump.  Even if I wasn’t scared, the idea is not at all compelling to me.  So what would I do?  Hmmm.

As the day wore on,  a few thoughts came to mind….

I would climb the fence blocking off the old crumbling Fenimore Bridge, walk across and take photos of the Hudson River from that vantage point.

I would drink port until I could no longer lift my glass.

I would borrow a boat and camp all alone under the stars on one of the islands in the Narrows on Lake George.

I would sneak past the barriers and lie down  in the middle of Stonehenge and do nothing but contemplate…what I would contemplate?  Who knows, but that’s what I would do.

I would go on an African Safari.

I would hike the Australian Outback.

I would sunbathe on a topless beach.

I would smoke a pipe…just once.

I would hike the entire Appalachian Trail.

I would raft the Colorado River.

I would apply for the show Survivor.

I’m sure there’s more, but that’s a pretty good start.  So, now you know what I would do…what would YOU do????

10 responses

  1. Sometimes you go what you gotta do. I think the world of macros is what gives me my release. I have done many things in my life but the ability to lose myself in flowers (how weird does that sound) has been my saving grace over the last few years.

    But…back to the port…any particular kind? I have a real weakness for port.

    April 16, 2010 at 6:16 am

    • I just discovered port around Christmas so I have yet to explore all the choices and narrow down a favorite. I understand there’s Ruby and Tawny? I’ve only tried Ruby so far. As far as brand??? I don’t even know. Croft was lovely…

      http://www.croftport.com/index_.asp

      April 16, 2010 at 3:22 pm

  2. ummm….I meant, Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do…but you might have to go where you have to go, too.

    April 16, 2010 at 6:17 am

  3. Jennifer A

    Oh, I’d join you for that port too! And then since money is no object, I’d hop the next first class flight to Paris and spend the day there!

    April 16, 2010 at 8:50 am

    • See, I would’ve said Paris (would LOVE to go) but that’s something that I actually MIGHT do someday. Present circumstances are all that’s stopping me there, not my own weird hangups and fears. LOL
      I’m such a chicken, I’ll never do any of those other things I wrote even though I wish I could.

      April 16, 2010 at 3:28 pm

      • Hmmm, okay… sorry, you are right, I did miss that nuance in my answer. I’ll have to think about that some more and come back!

        April 19, 2010 at 8:30 am

  4. You ask a good question! I’ve kept coming back to this all day and I really couldn’t think of anything. How sad is that? OR, maybe I am pretty happy with my life (I am).

    Tonight, I thought of some:

    I would travel Europe – not just the trendy spots but all the beautiful remote areas.

    I would ride in a hot air balloon – in the morning to see the sunrise and again, at night to see all the lights.

    I would stay in the fanciest hotel on the planet and pretend I was someone famous.

    I would drive 200 mph in a race car.

    I would do a zip line in some exotic place.

    I would join the mile high club.

    I would adopt a child.

    I would sing on American Idol (okay, way too old for that, so maybe, America’s Got Talent?)

    I would do stand-up comedy.

    I would spend the afternoon just hanging out with Ellen Degeneres, Betty White, Whoopi Goldberg and Bonnie Hunt because I like to laugh and they all treat animals well.

    I would volunteer at elephant or giraffe sanctuary.

    I would dive for sunken treasure.

    That’s it (for now). 🙂

    April 16, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    • Oh, Milkay! What a wonderful list to ponder!

      And of course, I keep thinking of more now.

      I would spend a week living in an abandoned Scottish Highland castle.

      I would take my kids out of school and take them on a 108 day world cruise.

      I would apply to be an extra in a movie.

      April 17, 2010 at 12:11 pm

  5. Hmm, an interesting question in that it is not only what would we do were we free of financial and other bindings, but that our spirit would not allow – am I interpreting this correctly? I think for me it would be a cross-country photography roadtrip all by myself. I have the desire to see and photograph more of our great country, for sure, but I’d never have the guts to jump in the car and take off on my own for that long. Real worries, such as car repairs or getting horribly lost in a scary place, and more philosophical worries, like would I really enjoy spending that much time with myself, would prevent this from ever really happening.

    April 17, 2010 at 11:27 am

    • Exactly Karma! That is the question I’m putting out there.
      I love my life, and there are a lot of things on my “ToDoSomeday” list, which I will eventually (God willing) have the time/freedom to….but there are other things I long to do, that I know I would never have the guts to even attempt.
      A cross-country roadtrip…alone??? *sigh* Ah, what bliss that would be, if only fear didn’t get in the way. 🙂

      April 17, 2010 at 11:59 am

Leave a Reply

