A Phoenix Burning

Building the New Me, One Embarrassing Step at a Time

So, I had an appointment tonight to meet with a trainer at the local YMCA in order to be trained on the use of their exercise machines.  When I made my appointment, I was added onto Chris’ schedule.  I liked the fact that Chris was female and about my age, so in theory, I wouldn’t feel quite so ashamed of  my mushy, weak, and recently incapacitated body.

So I come to the desk, see Chris and say, “Hello, I have a 7:00 appointment for FitLinxx training.”   And Chris says, “Oh, hello.  Yes…I will get David for you.”  And I’m thinking….”David??  Who is David…I was supposed to meet with you, Chris.”  But I wait patiently, thinking maybe I misheard.  Apparently my hearing is just fine, because along comes David with a very charming smile on his face.  David is about 20 years old, does not fit into his t-shirt because of his bulging muscles, and at that moment I am certain he doesn’t know the first thing about 4o -year-old mushy Mommy bodies.   Right then and there I want to crawl into a hole and die.  The first sentence out of my mouth is a plea for mercy, and…Wait. D id I mention that I wanted to crawl into a hole and die?

*sigh*

But truly, there is a very anticlimactic end to this story…turns out David was quite disarming and easy to be around, and made  me feel like maybe, just maybe, crawling into a hole wasn’t necessary after all.  In fact, he was a good match for me, having recovered from a slipped disk himself.  And I only embarrassed myself once, stepping where  I shouldn’t have stepped, and my legs went…….well, never mind.  I won’t tell you exactly where my legs went.  Suffice it to say, it could’ve been ugly.  But thank goodness I was able to get my body back under control and therefore  saved myself from a truly undignified pose (barely.)   He tried very hard to be a gentleman and not laugh, but I don’t think that even the Pope could’ve helped himself.

When all was said and done, I had pushed a total of 940 pounds, and left with my dignity intact which I consider a rare and unexpected bonus.

3 responses

  1. Zandic

    Stop flirting with the College boys. 🙂

    April 1, 2010 at 1:22 am

  2. I bet you are sore this morning. Better that than what you just went through.

    April 1, 2010 at 5:15 am

  3. ‘Through embarrassment, we grow’. I guess you grew alot yesterday! It is funny, as I was reading this, I kept thinking you had met my nephew David, who is a PT and fits yur description. You are on your way!! You go girl! 🙂

    April 1, 2010 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

