A Phoenix Burning

New Toy

Well, after much deliberation (just ask poor Scott!) I  decided to upgrade my camera from my trusty Nikon D40 to a Nikon D90.  As the saying goes, it all begins with a throw pillow, or in this case, a glitchy lens.  I went looking for a replacement lens and came out with a whole new kit at the end.  How could I resist? The 18-200mm VR lens was $300 off with the purchase of the camera.  Aren’t I a good saver?  😉

So this new little beauty arrived on Monday.  Alas, I had already cleaned and packed my D40 to ready it for transfer to it’s new home, and didn’t have the heart to pull it back out only to have to go through the heartwrenching goodbye process again.  So no pretty photos of my new camera or the pretty gold boxes it came in.  I haven’t had very much time to play with it, and I have a lot to learn (again) since it’s got a lot of cool little buttons on it that attach to functions I have never used (or heard of) before.  It’s like getting a new car….it’s all at once familiar, yet completely foreign.  You can sit right down, start it up and drive, but it might take you awhile to figure out what all those new buttons do, or how the windshield wiper turns on.  I will tell you that I already LOVE that little window on top of the camera that shows all the camera info all the time….my D40 only had the back display.  I LOVE my new lens….no more switching between my 18-55mm and my 55-200mm.  And the vibration reduction is wonderful, as I tend to hate flash and shoot indoors a lot.  But my very favorite thing???  The fact that my 50mm f/1.8 lens that I bought two years or so ago AUTOFOCUSES!!!!!!!!!  WHoooooHoooooo!  🙂  I could only use it manually on my D40.

So far, so good, no regrets!

So here’s the first D90 shot I will share with you…Many more to come.  (And a big public thank you to friend Scott for being my sounding board and for giving such good advice.)

8 responses

  1. Looka at you! That is FANTASTIC! You will LOVE yoru new toy and you are already taking great pics! Congrats! 🙂

    March 10, 2010 at 9:46 am

  2. Welcome to the D90 club!
    An excellent photo to start with, love the metallic feel.

    March 10, 2010 at 9:49 am

  3. You got it just in time for my blog’s next assignment, too. 😉

    A great start with your new D90. Yes, the 50mm f/1.8 will be a lot more fun to use. Warning though, keep your and away from the lens when it is focusing as it spins. Had few hand scraps from forgetting that fact myself. Of course, there’s always the 35mm f/1.8 AFS lens available. 🙂

    No problem at all answering your questions. Always fun to help people spend their money on cool photo stuff. If you use Auto ISO, you have new settings to tweak. Have fun!

    March 10, 2010 at 10:48 am

  4. Yay!!! Congrats on the new toy! I know you’ll have fun with it 🙂
    The lens is great, too (I have it, too)

    March 10, 2010 at 10:49 am

  5. OK, I am suffering severe envy. Not even of the camera, you understand, but of the idea of the camera.

    March 11, 2010 at 12:21 am

  6. Z

    d90:-0 turning green…

    March 14, 2010 at 1:49 am

  7. I also upgraded from the D40 to the D90 recently and live in Saratoga Springs. My photos are up in uncommon grounds right now.

    Actually, also just purchased a Chamonix 045n-2 view camera. I know, it’s crazy!

    Maybe we’ll cross photographic tracks in town sometime…

    April 6, 2010 at 8:00 am

    • Welcome to my little corner of the internet David! Thanks for stopping by. I will be stopping in to Uncommon Grounds this week. I look forward to seeing your work! 🙂
      I think I’m going to love my D90…and I know—once you start purchasing, you just want more more more! LOL

      April 6, 2010 at 9:13 am

Leave a Reply

