A Phoenix Burning

“The Gift of an Ordinary Day”

My Mother sent a video to me today, and the message is important so I am sharing it here.  It is a message I strive everyday to internalize.  I think my photography has helped me practice this lesson…I find myself capturing the small moments more and more, and the big moments less and less.  In fact, sometimes I  purposely leave my camera home when I go to big events because I want to experience them “live” rather than through the lens of my camera.  But I tend to  find exquisite beauty in the little moments…those are the moments I want to remember yet fear I may someday forget.  Moments like these….

Have a listen…”The Gift of an Ordinary Day” should resonate with all you parents out there.  (You’ll also see Katrina Kenison’s blog added over in the blogroll.)

3 responses

  1. That second pic is soooo sweet!!! To me, those are the REAL big moments.
    Hey, why do you have my Dyson? Oh wait.. that’s YOUR Dyson! 😉

    February 22, 2010 at 6:42 pm

  2. You’ve captured your ‘perfectly ordinary day” beautifully. 🙂

    February 22, 2010 at 8:48 pm

  3. Cindy

    Thank you for posting this and for me to find!

    February 26, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Leave a Reply

