A Phoenix Burning

I’ve Fallen and I Can’t Get Up!

So I don’t know exactly what I did, but I did it good.

My lower back started to twinge a bit two weeks ago.  Then it started to stiffen up a bit more.  Then over that weekend it was getting pretty aggravated and aggravating.  I very carefully went about my chores last Monday—laundry, vacuuming, changing beds.  And then on Tuesday I was in trouble. 

I nursed it with heat, I stopped lifting everything heavier than the milk jug, stopped bending down (because I couldn’t,) and let my house get dusty.   By Friday I was moving less and less, so finally went to the doctor.  He diagnosed me with a lumbar sprain and sciatic nerve flare up and gave me prescriptions for Motrin and muscle relaxants.  Unfortunately, I got worse instead of better and last night, when Mister started crying at 3:00am, I stumbled out of bed, took one step, two steps, and collapsed on the ground. 

You guessed it…”I’ve fallen and I can’t get up!!!” 

Zan helped my decrepit body to it’s hands and knees and then took care of Mister.  I managed to crawl back to my bedroom and claw my way back to bed, but was scared to death of facing the morning.

Long story short, I could not support my own weight this morning and got a med change and an emergency visit to the physical therapist.  I’m still in a scary predicament, every step being a crap shoot as to whether I will remain on my feet, but at least I am able to support some of my own weight this afternoon.  A slipped disc is suspected, but my PT will see what the next two days of treatment brings in terms of improvement.  Crossing my fingers that this is just a really bad reversible strain.

Lordy Lordy I hate Forty.

Wish me luck!

7 responses

  1. Oh, no! How awful for you! I am sending you many, many hugs and well wishes for a speedy recovery (and good meds!) 🙂

    February 17, 2010 at 5:51 pm

  2. I remember one morning when I could not get out of bed due to a back problem. The meds I got (relaxants) were great. However, I lost a weekend to them.

    I hope a change in meds and PT can get you back on your feet again soon. At least the weather is crappy.

    February 18, 2010 at 9:07 am

  3. karma

    Best of luck! Been through the “can’t move cuz my back kills” thing here – I blacked out from back pain last year. Feel better soon!

    February 18, 2010 at 9:29 am

  4. Although I hate hearing that some of you have had a similar experience, I must tell you that it is encouraging to me. At it’s worst, you wonder if you will ever be able to walk pain free again. You make me optimistic.
    Thanks for the encouraging words. 🙂

    And yes, the weather IS crappy….spring cannot come soon enough. I was fine with the weather until this week. Now, I need to open a window or two. *sigh*

    February 18, 2010 at 9:55 am

  5. It was hard to read all the way through your post because it reminded me too vividly of my bouts with @#$% sciatica and I had to take time out to swear a little bit.

    You will eventually get better, and you have all my sympathy, even the part I was saving up for a personal pity party over the weather here.

    You might ask your PT about the advisability of brief applications of a flexible gel ice-pack (or a bag of frozen peas, whatever’s handy) to relieve the “discomfort” (i.e., that searing, panic-inducing agony that is blazing away across your entire spine and butt). In my experience, which is generally eccentric, cold worked better than heat.

    I am so sorry that you are afflicted with this crappy piece of–wait, wait, I have to go away and swear some more.

    February 18, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    • Thanks Gerry….Yes, ice packs have become my very best friends. I creep to the bathroom, I creep back to my ice pack…Love my heating pad too, but the ice is what calms the spasms the most.

      I will get through this, and I will never take my poor back for granted again. 🙂

      February 18, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Leave a Reply

